View Mobile Site

Hoisington wrestling moves to No. 1

POSTED February 6, 2018 4:07 p.m.

HOISINGTON — Two-time state champion Christopher Ball of Hoisington (32-1, 152) is top-ranked in the 3A state rankings provided by the Kansas Wrestling Coaches Association. Wyatt Pedigo (26-3, 182) is top-ramked and the Cardinals are the No. 1 ranked team in 3A.
Other Cardinals state-ranked are third-ranked Sean Urban (30-1, 170); fifth-ranked Tanner Cassity (27-3, 138) and third-ranked Joshua Ball (28-4, 160). Urban placed fifth, Cassity finished sixth and Pedigo was a state qualifier last year.
The Cardinals compete at the Central Kansas League Tournament Thursday at Lindsborg.

3A TEAM RANKINGS—1—Hoisington; 2—Scott City; 3—Smith Center; 4—Hoxie; 5—Norton; 6—Eureka; 7—Alma-Wabaunsee; 8—Silver Lake; 9—Rossville; 10—Riley County

106—1—Kendall Beitz, Eureka (35-0); 2—Alec Segarra, Hill City; 3—Colton Shoemaker, Smith Center; 4—Rathe Aschenbrenner, Colby; 5—Travor Ragland, Pleasant Ridge; 6—Chris Gleason, Mission Valley;

113—1—Kolby Beitz, Eureka; 3—Ryan Ware, Wellsville; 3—Ashten Dodson, Douglass; 4—Camdyn Unterseher, Norton; 5—Zach Sherman, Hoxie; 6—Kaden Dillon, Sabatha

120—1—Hunter Reddick, Fredonia; 2—Blayne Harris, Beloit; 3—Dalton Ware, Royal Valley; 4—Anthony King, St. Marys; 4—Caleb Farmer, Remington; 5—Braiden Lynn, Cimarron; 6—Dylan Weimer, Hoxie

126—1—Justus McDaniel, Scott City; 2—Kel Grafel, Oberlin; 3—Jordan Priddy, Silver Lake; 4—Caden Emmot, Beloit; 5—Drew Juenemann, Oberlin; 6—Zeb Turner, SE Saline

132—1—Riley Tubbs, Wabaunsee; 2—Kaden Wren, Scott City; 3—Ryan Johnson, Norton; 4—Bryce Younger, Ellis; 5—Ben Rundus, Republic Co.; 6—Chandler Schoenberger, Russell

138—1—Kolby Droegemeier, Wabaunsee; 2—Luke Richard, Riley Co.; 3—Dawson Ensign, Goodland; 4—Zane Stanton, Caney Valley; 5—Tanner Cassity, Hoisington (27-3); 6—Luke Horn, Riverside

145—1—Dayton Porsch, Hoxie; 2—Scott Resler, Riverside; 3—Spencer Heise, Osborne; 4—Ethan Hamel, Hill City; 5—Isiaha Mason, Oberlin; 6—Nate Normandin, Plainville

152—1—Christopher Ball, Hoisington (32-1); 2—Colton Hutchinson, Smith Center; 3—Holden Hurla, Rossville; 4—Sean Rall, Colby; 5—Zane Colson, Mankato-Rock Hills; 6—Scott Kuder, Minneapolis

160—1—Isaiah Luellen, Rossville; 2—Jarret Jurgens, Scott City; 3—Joshua Ball, Hoisington (28-4); 4—Jordan Finnesy, Plainville; 5—Zeb Speer, Doniphan West; 6—Morgan Rains, Oakley

170—1—Wyatt Hayes, Scott City; 2—Gable Howerton, Silver Lake; 3—Sean Urban, Hoisington (30-1); 4—Noah Hensen, Plainville; 5—Kory Finley, Colby; 6—Tevin Petrie, Norton

182—1—Wyatt Pedigo, Hoisington (26-3); 2—Michael Waggoner, Riley Co.; 3—Matt Cruickshank, St. Marys; 4—Roxton Brown, Osborne; 5—Tyson Villapondo, Minneapolis; 6—Jared Miller, Oskaloosa

195—1—Josh Seabolt, Cimarron; 2—Colben Dodson, Cherryvale; 3—Nick Davenport, Ell-Saline; 4—Tyler Palic, Marion; 5—Hayden Wiltfong, Norton; 6—Jacob McKnight, Riverside

220—1—Chris Cox, Hoxie; 2—Dalton Kuhn, Smith Center; 3—Luis Ledesma, Goodland; 4—Trayton Doyle, St. Francis; 5—Adrian Gerber, Chaparral; 6—Charlie Nordquist, Marion

285—1—Avery Hawkins, Smith Center; 2—Hadley Panzer, Lakin; 3—Elliot Strahm, Sabatha; 4—Jarret McLinden, Marion; 5—Jaden Eslinger, Chaparral 6—Daylan Fell, Bluestem;


  • Bookmark and Share

No comments have been posted. Log in or Register to post a comment. encourages readers to interact with one another. We will not edit your comments, but we reserve the right to delete any inappropriate responses. To report offensive or inappropriate comments, contact our editor.

The comments below are from readers of and do not necessarily represent the views of The Newspaper or Morris Multimedia.
To post a comment you must be a registered user of


Please wait ...