View Mobile Site

2017 Usd #431 Educational Foundation Scholaship Golf Tournament raises $4,800 for Class of 2018

POSTED September 8, 2017 10:42 a.m.

HOISINGTON — The Hoisington USD 431 Education Foundation hosted its 8th Annual Scholarship Golf Tournament Saturday, Sept. 2 at Lake Barton Golf Club. The weather cooperated, leading to increased participation, said USD 431 Superintendent Bill Lowry.
“This was one of our better tournaments with 13 teams participating,” Lowry said. “We’re please to be able to raised this money to provide scholarships for our kids.”
There were four teams of same class alumni, four teams of mixed class alumni, four teams open class, and one team of women alumni. Each team had four players. Between entry fees, sponsorships from local businesses, including First Kansas Bank, Clara Barton Hospital, Wilson State Bank, Cardinal Pharmacy, Manweiler Chevrolet, American Fidelity, Josten’s, Conrade Insurance, GMCN Architects and Nabholz Construction, and less expenses, the tournament raised $4,800 this year.
Each spring, every Hoisington High School senior who achieves a grade point average of 3.5 for at least seven semesters is awarded a scholarship at the USD 431 Educational Foundation scholarship banquet.
Winners in all four classes are as follows:
1985 Same Class Alumni Winner (6 time champion), with a score of 61, are Tyler Schremmer, Scot Klug, Tim Boxberger, Scott Polzin.
Open Class, with a score of 57, are Alan Charles, Ryan Niehues, Mya Niehues, Phil Garvert.
Women Alumni, with a score of 75, are DJ Baird, Angela Shelby, Mandy Baird, Jane Rice.
Alumni, with a score of 65, are Kurt Schremmer, Gary Boxberger, Mark Demel, Shannon Donovan


  • Bookmark and Share

No comments have been posted. Log in or Register to post a comment. encourages readers to interact with one another. We will not edit your comments, but we reserve the right to delete any inappropriate responses. To report offensive or inappropriate comments, contact our editor.

The comments below are from readers of and do not necessarily represent the views of The Newspaper or Morris Multimedia.
To post a comment you must be a registered user of


Please wait ...