View Mobile Site

Hoisington’s Wilborn receives NSF honor

POSTED April 13, 2018 2:25 p.m.

MANHATTAN — Six current Kansas State University students and two alumni are among the National Science Foundation’s 2018 Graduate Research Fellows and honorable mentions.
Adam Schieferecke, combined Bachelor of Science and Master of Science student in biology, Bennington; Kyle Apley, senior in chemistry, Olsburg; Benjamin Archibeque, senior in physics and psychology, Wichita; and Priscila Guzman, doctoral student in biology, Florida, Puerto Rico, are among 2,000 students nationwide to receive the three-year fellowship, which includes a $34,000 annual stipend and $12,000 for tuition and fees. More than 12,000 students applied for the fellowship.
Hannah Wilborn, senior in industrial engineering, Hoisington, and Nelson Walker, doctoral student in statistics, Freeport, Illinois, received honorable mentions.
The fellowship supports and recognizes outstanding students conducting science, technology, engineering or mathematics research as they undertake master’s or doctoral degrees at accredited U.S. institutions. The fellowship program was established in 1952.
“The NSF Graduate Research Fellowship is one of the most prestigious recognitions for graduate students and represents a national investment in our STEM workforce,” said Beth Montelone, senior associate vice president for research at Kansas State University. “The fact that six current K-State students were awarded fellowships or honorable mentions indicates that our institution provides students with excellent training and faculty mentors, and that they produce outstanding research results.”
Wilborn worked as an undergraduate research assistant for David Ben-Arieh, professor of industrial and manufacturing systems engineering, to investigate modeling the spread of infectious diseases. She plans to pursue a doctorate in industrial engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology beginning in the fall.


  • Bookmark and Share

No comments have been posted. Log in or Register to post a comment. encourages readers to interact with one another. We will not edit your comments, but we reserve the right to delete any inappropriate responses. To report offensive or inappropriate comments, contact our editor.

The comments below are from readers of and do not necessarily represent the views of The Newspaper or Morris Multimedia.
To post a comment you must be a registered user of


Please wait ...