By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Kansas Cowboy Poetry Contest announces celebrity judges
Placeholder Image

Kansas leaders and communicators have agreed to serve as judges for the 2014 Kansas Cowboy Poetry Contest. The state contest finals will be held at 7 p.m. on June 13 at the St. John’s Lutheran Memorial Hall at 218 Kansas in Alma. There is no admission charge and the public is invited to attend.
Judges for 2014 include: Chief Justice Lawton Nuss of the Kansas Supreme Court, Kyle Bauer of KFRM Radio, Frank Buchman of WIBW FM, and Marie Martin of the Flint Hills Discovery Center Foundation.
“We are pleased that this distinguished group will serve as our judges for this event,” said Ron Wilson, chair of the poetry contest. “They are outstanding leaders and communicators who care about the great western history of Kansas.”
The Flint Hills Discovery Center Foundation is the lead sponsor for the 2014 contest. “Thanks to the Discovery Center Foundation for its support, which also honors our rich cowboy heritage in the Flint Hills and beyond,” Wilson said.
Only those poets who qualify at one of the state’s regional qualifying contests will be eligible to compete at the state contest on June 13. Qualifying events were or will be held at Old Cowtown in Wichita on May 18; Carnegie Center for the Arts in Dodge City on May 30; and the Flint Hills Rodeo at Strong City on June 7.
At the state contest, there are two divisions: serious and humorous poetry. First place winners in each division will receive the Saddlejack Bradrick Award, the coveted Governor’s Buckle, two tickets to the Symphony in the Flint Hills, and the opportunity to recite their work again at the Flint Hills Art Fest in El Dorado and in the Patron’s Tent at the Symphony. The Symphony in the Flint Hills will be held Saturday, June 14 at the Rosalia Ranch in Butler County.
For information or to enter, go to or contact chair Ron Wilson, Poet Lariat at or Abby Amick, Wabaunsee County Economic Development, 785-765-4655,  
Other committee members include: Jeff Davidson, President, Kansas Chapter of Western Music Association from Greenwood County; Brad Hamilton, Western Entertainer from Hoyt; Geff Dawson, accomplished cowboy poet and entertainer from the Alma area, and Trey Allen, Winner of the 2011 Kansas Cowboy Poetry Contest.