By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
New commissioners elected to Kansas commodity commissions
Placeholder Image

TOPEKA – The Kansas Department of Agriculture Friday announced the result of the elections held for the state’s five grain commodity commissions – corn, grain sorghum, soybeans, sunflowers and wheat in districts Four, Five and Six in the central region of the state.
Area farmers included in the nominations were:
Kansas Soybean Commission
District Five:  Kent Romine grows soybeans in Barton County and is a fifth generation farmer. He is a past chairman of the Kansas Soybean Association and Kansas Soybean Commission and is actively involved in several local, state and national organizations such as American Soybean Association, Kansas Farm Bureau and a Barton County Fair board member. Romine graduated from Kansas State University.
Kansas Wheat Commission
District Five: David Radenberg grows wheat in Barton County where his family farm has been active for more than 100 years. He is a member of Barton County Farm Bureau, Farmers Coop Union and the Kansas Wheat Commission. Radenberg graduated with his associate’s degree from Barton Community College and with his bachelor’s degree from Kansas State University.