By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Mid-Kansas Electric holds 6th annual meeting
Placeholder Image

HAYS — Mid-Kansas Electric Company LLC held its sixth annual meeting in Ulysses May 18.
The board of directors received the annual report of the company, which is available on the Mid-Kansas website, and elected officers for the upcomingyear.
Stuart Lowry, Mid-Kansas’ president and chief executive officer, discussed the company’s current projects and future plans, including regulatory challenges, transmission policy and the transition to the Southwest Power Pool Integrated Marketplace in March 2014.
Following the board meeting, an organizational meeting was conducted by the board of directors to elect leadership for the coming year.
Steve Epperson, a representative of Southern Pioneer Electric Company, was elected chairman of the board of directors. Bruce Mueller, a representative of Wheatland Electric Cooperative Inc., was elected vice chairman.
“In a relatively short period of time, Mid-Kansas has made great strides in bolstering its generation and transmission assets to better serve our members,” Lowry said. “These projects would not have been possible without the expertise and visionary approach of the Mid-Kansas board, who base each decision they make on what is in the best interest of the members they serve.”
Mid-Kansas Electric Company LLC is a coalition of five rural electric cooperatives and one wholly owned subsidiary that serve approximately 200,000 Kansans throughout 33 counties.
Mid-Kansas’ members include Lane-Scott Electric Cooperative Inc., Dighton; Prairie Land Electric Cooperative Inc., Norton; Southern Pioneer Electric Company, Ulysses; The Victory Electric Cooperative Association Inc., Dodge City; Western Cooperative Electric Association Inc., WaKeeney; and Wheatland Electric Cooperative Inc., Scott City. For more information, visit the Mid-Kansas website at