By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Basketball team recognized
new_deh_county commisison cphs boys bball pic.jpg

The Barton County Commission Monday morning approved a proclamation congratulating the 28-0 Central Plains High School boys basketball team on its 2019 1A state championship, capping a 53-game win streak. Pictured are team members Alex Hickel, Lawson Oeser, Bralen Thompson, Myles Menges, Jerred Bieberle, Ethan Hurley, Devin Ryan, Brett Liebl, J.JHeredia, Brett Thompson, Tyler Holmes, Principal Toby Holmes and Superintendent Greg Clark. Also pictured are commissioners Kenny Schremmer, Homer Kruckenberg, Jennifer Schartz and Don Davis. Not pictured is coach Brett Rolfs. Monday was declared Central Plains Oilers Boys Basketball Day. The CPHS girls basketball team also captured the state title and that team will be honored on April 1.