By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
FHSU business college ceremony recognizes award winners $285,000 in scholarships, assistantships pre
Placeholder Image

About $285,500 in financial assistance, scholarships and graduate fellowships for the 2015-2016 academic year, were awarded at the annual scholarship award ceremony of Fort Hays State University’s College of Business and Entrepreneurship on April 30.
About 300 donors, students, parents and faculty attended the April 30 ceremony. Awards included 169 scholarships to 134 students amounting to roughly $159,500 and 18 full-time graduate fellowships totaling about $126,000, an average value of $7,000 each.
Local scholarship winners are: Bazine: Bryanda Martinez-Levario, senior majoring in finance, $500 Economics and Finance Departmental Scholarship; Claflin: Aubrey Kempke, junior majoring in accounting, $1,000 Cole J. Engel Accounting Scholarship and $1,000 Kennedy & Coe Accounting Scholarship; Ellinwood: Chelsea Churchill, junior majoring in accounting, $500 Ruthetta Krause Scholarship; Garfield: Paul Kirkwood, junior majoring in information networking and telecommunications, $1,000 Jack and Peggy Heather Scholarship; Great Bend: Matthew Bruner, freshman majoring in accounting, $500 Accounting Departmental Scholarship; Chasity Farr, M.B.A. student, graduate teaching assistantship; Jordan Klima, senior majoring in accounting, $4,500 Jack and Peggy McCullick Scholarship; Peter Marston, junior majoring in accounting, $1,000 Brungardt Hower Ward Elliott & Pfeifer Accounting Scholarship; Adam Neeland, junior majoring in accounting, $1,000 Alpha Kappa Psi Scholarship; Miles Orth, senior majoring in finance, $1,000 Darrell Seibel Family and Edward Jones Investments Scholarship; LaCrosse: Dylan Engel, junior majoring in management, $500 Emprise Bank Management Scholarship; Larned: Reagan Quick, sophomore majoring in accounting, $1,250 Lewis, Hooper, and Dick LLC Accounting Scholarship; Lucas: Darissa Spears, senior majoring in management, $550 Northwest Kansas Association of Insurance and Financial Advisors Scholarship; Macksville: Adam Oak, junior majoring in management, $1,000 L&S Kohlmeier Scholarship; Ness City: Matthew Frank, sophomore majoring in accounting, $5,000 Farmer Family Excellence Scholarship; Pawnee Rock: Loretta Lauer, senior majoring in human resource management, $300 Jerry L. Kaempfe Memorial Scholarship; Russell: Savanna Huff, sophomore majoring in finance, $500 Economics and Finance Departmental Scholarship.