By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
KU to honor 47 high school seniors from four Kansas Counties
Placeholder Image

Students from nine Kansas high schools will be honored Thursday, Oct. 21, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and KU Endowment.
A total of 47 seniors from high schools in Ellis, Rooks, Russell and Trego counties will be recognized for their academic achievements and named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 6:30 p.m. dinner and program at Hays High School, 2300 E. 13th St.
The Kansas Honors Program celebrates its 40th anniversary this year. Since 1971, the program has recognized 114,000 scholars, who rank in the top 10 percent of their high school senior classes and are selected regardless of occupational plans or higher-education goals. Each year, the KU Alumni Association and its volunteers host 41 programs that reach all 105 counties across the state.
During the ceremony, each student will receive an American Heritage Dictionary, in both hardback and electronic versions, presented by Jacob Strecker, assistant director of Kansas programs for the KU Alumni Association.
Frank DeSalvo, associate vice provost for student success, will speak to the students and their parents and guests.
Honored students will be guests of the alumni association and KU Endowment; parents and area alumni are welcome to attend at a cost of $15 each.
Community volunteers collect reservations, coordinate details and serve as local contacts for the event. Shiela Brening, of Hays, is the site coordinator. Lisa Karlin, of Hays, is the Ellis County coordinator. Tom and Cassie Nuckols, of Plainville, are the Rooks County coordinators.  Nancy Lane, of Russell, is the Russell County coordinator. Jim and Kathy Cleland, of WaKeeney, are the Trego County coordinators.
The Kansas Honors Program is made possible by KU Endowment and proceeds from the Jayhawk license plate program.
Students to be honored include:Ryan Augustine, Alesha Brenner, Zody Magdalen, Jessica Wheeler of Ellis High School; Megan Chretien, Hayden David, Zack Gaughan, Micayla Greathouse, Trey Herman, Megan Herndon, Sami Hobson, Emily Huse, Alicia Johnson, Laci Leiker, Tara McGuire, Angela Moore, Ashley Moore, Rachel Palmberg, Emily Pfeifer, Madison Schultz, Chelsey Smith, Lauren Wright of Hays High School; Traci Knipp, of Palco High School;Taylor Hixon, Kylee Pywell, Emily Ruder of Plainville High School; Chelsey Hachmeister, Jordan Kaufman, Brady Ruggels, Annie Vonfeldt, Michael Vonfeldt, Peyton Weiss, Amber Zvolanek of Russell High School; Mary Lynn Griebel, Dustin Kriley of Stockton High School; Alex Becker, Christy Moeder, Cammie Schmidtberger, Abigail Staab, Hayley Taylor, Rebeca Whitmer, Tanner Younie of Thomas More-Prep High School; Jackie Albin, William Papes, Chad Uhrich of Trego Community High School; and Dalton Gasper, Cody Scheck of Victoria High School.