By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
KU to honor 57 high school seniors from five Central Kansas counties
Kansas Jayhawks

Students from 12 Kansas high schools will be honored Wednesday, Feb. 1, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and KU Endowment.
A total of 61 seniors from high schools in Barton, Edwards, Pawnee, Rush and Stafford counties will be recognized for their academic achievements and named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 6:30 p.m. dinner and program at The Club at Stoneridge, 1438 24th Street in Great Bend.
Since 1971, the Kansas Honors Program has recognized over 125,000 scholars, who rank in the top 10 percent of their high school senior classes and are selected regardless of occupational plans or higher-education goals.
Each year, the KU Alumni Association and its volunteers host 36 programs that reach all 105 counties across the state and include approximately 360 high schools.
During the ceremony, each student will receive a Webster’s New College Dictionary.
Heath Peterson, president of the KU Alumni Association, will speak to the students and their parents and guests.
Honored students will be guests of the Alumni Association and KU Endowment; parents and area alumni are welcome to attend at a cost of $15 each.
Community volunteers collect reservations, coordinate details and serve as local contacts for the event. William King, of Great Bend, is the site coordinator. Perry and Krista Smith, of Great Bend, are the Barton and Rush County coordinators. Gayle Cornwell, of St. John, is the Stafford County coordinator. Mark Frame, of Kinsley, is the Edwards County coordinator. Barbara Hammond, of Larned, is the Pawnee County coordinator.
The Kansas Honors Program is made possible by KU Endowment and proceeds from the Jayhawk license plate program. The Class of 2017 scholars are: Central Plains High School: Chelsey Bieberle, Kylee Kasselman, James Radenberg, Janae Ryan; Ellinwood High School: Bailey Baird, Shelbee Miller, Allison Panning-Ellinwood; Great Bend High School: Kaitlin Adams, Emma Cape, Dawson Clark, Kira Cook, Kody Crosby, Kaily Griffith, Madyson Hayden, Ashtin Heath, Keely Ireland, Konner Ireland, Morgan Kaiser, Marcos Martinez, Tristan Mitchell, Madison Otter, Jennifer Ramirez, Allison Regehr, Wyatt Rugan, Darien Sanchez, Kimberlyn Sinclair, Allison Stocker; Hoisington High School: Tanner Blackwell, Viktoria Donetz, Emma Harmon, Elizabeth Lacey, Delaney Smith, Tyler Specht, Madison Wilborn, Mackenzie Wright; Kinsley-Offerle High School: Caitlin Herrmann, Scout Frame, Holly Wilson; Larned High School: Jori Fox, Emily Herrman, Dorthy Keenan, Colton Massey, Maxym Perebynos, Jaicee Walker-Larned; Pawnee Heights High School: Micaela Polson-Rozel; La Crosse High School: Olivia Baus, Jackson Dinsmore; Otis-Bison High School: Dylan Jecha, Cayla Steinert; Macksville High School: Sophie Filbert, Jarrod Kuckelman, Olivia Vosburgh; St. John High School: Miranda Garner, Cade Roberts, Ryan Woodward; Stafford High School: Luke Alpers, Tanner Sipes