By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
KU to honor 58 seniors from five Central Kansas high schools
Placeholder Image

Students from 12 Kansas high schools will be honored Wednesday, Feb. 5, by the University of Kansas Alumni Association and KU Endowment.
A total of 58 seniors from high schools in Barton, Edwards, Pawnee, Rush and Stafford counties will be recognized for their academic achievements and named Kansas Honor Scholars at a 6:30 p.m. dinner and program at The Club at Stoneridge, 1438 24th St., Great Bend.
Area honorees are as follows: Central Plains High School: Peyton Broeker, of Claflin, Trey Heitschmidt, of Bushton, Breanna Holmes, of Claflin; Ellinwood High School: Colton Churchill, of Ellinwood, Jared Oelke, of Ellinwood, Wyatt Smith, of Great Bend, Kelsea Ward, of Ellinwood; Great Bend High School: Selam Ball, of Great Bend, Mary Beuoy, of Great Bend, Matthew Bruner, of Great Bend, Gregory Burley, of Great Bend, Jun Rui Chen, of Great Bend, Kaylie Doll, of Great Bend, Kelsie Doll, of Great Bend, Aaron Goerl, of Great Bend, Morgan Harwood, of Great Bend, Brooke Henning, of Great Bend, Hannah Hildebrand, of Great Bend, Blake Hinson, of Great Bend, Marissa Hoisington, of Great Bend, Colton Lagerman, of Great Bend, Cody Lytle, of Ellinwood, Melanie Maneth, of Great Bend, Kelli McManaman, of Great Bend, Jami McVay, of Great Bend, Alaycia Ryan, of Great Bend, Tarikua Williams, Alec Witt, of Great Bend, Logan Zecha, of Great Bend; Hoisington High School: Jordin Greer, of Hoisington, Ashley Lockwood, of Great Bend, Abigayle Rziha, of Hoisington, Hannah Wilborn, of Hoisington; LaCrosse High School: Lucas Moeder, of La Crosse, Warren Storie, of Rush Center; Larned High School: Abigail Ayre, of Pawnee Rock, Jessica Johnson, of Larned, Erin Padilla, of Larned, Corrine Quick, of Larned, Allison Stejskal, of Burdett Gina Wray, of Larned; Macksville High School: BriAnna Evans, of Macksville, Silvia Lopez, of Macksville, Anna Penner, of Haviland; Otis-Bison High School: Colin Regan, of Albert, Dalton Steinert, of Otis; Pawnee Heights High School: Rayna Karst, of Rush Center; St. John High School: Schuyler Brown, of St. John, Timothy Easley, III, of St. John, Jessica Hanson, of St. John, Tia Smith, of St. John, Alexis Witt, of Hudson, Taylor Woodward, of St. John; Stafford High School: Riley Bowen, of Sylvia, Destiney Shelton, of Stafford
Since 1971, the Kansas Honors Program has recognized over 120,000 scholars, who rank in the top 10 percent of their high school senior classes and are selected regardless of occupational plans or higher-education goals. Each year, the KU Alumni Association and its volunteers host 37 programs that reach all 105 counties across the state and include approximately 360 high schools.
During the ceremony, each student will receive a Webster’s New College Dictionary and a commemorative certificate.
Bernie Kish, director of facilities & lecturer for the School of Education at the University of Kansas, will speak to the students and their parents and guests.
Honored students will be guests of the alumni association and KU Endowment; parents and area alumni are welcome to attend at a cost of $15 each.
Community volunteers collect reservations, coordinate details and serve as local contacts for the event. William King, of Great Bend, is the site coordinator. Perry and Krista Smith, of Great Bend, are the Barton and Rush County coordinators. Gayle Cornwell, of St. John, is the Stafford County coordinator. Mark Frame, of Kinsley, is the Edwards County coordinator. Barbara Hammond, of Larned, is the Pawnee County coordinator.
The Kansas Honors Program is made possible by KU Endowment and proceeds from the Jayhawk license plate program.