By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Memorial for Fallen Educators
edu slt national monumnent

EMPORIA — The memorial to fallen educators located at the National Teacher Hall of Fame is now the National Memorial to Fallen Educators. On April 30, President Trump signed legislation introduced by Sen. Jerry Moran with Rep. Roger Marshall into law. The memorial, which sits on the campus of Emporia State University, honors educators who have lost their lives while performing professional duties.
It is the first and only nationally designated memorial in Kansas.
“Educators play an integral role in shaping the next generations of Americans, and their dedication to the safety of their students too often goes unrecognized,” Moran said.
The designation carries no cost to taxpayers as the memorial will continue to be owned and cared for by the NTHF and Emporia State University.