By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Mortar Board chapter inducts 48 new members, two honorary members
Placeholder Image

Mortar Board chapter inducts 48 new members, two honorary members Forty-eight University of Kansas students have been initiated into Mortar Board, a senior honor society.
Chancellor Bernadette Gray-Little and her husband, Shade Little, were inducted as honorary members of the KU chapter.
The initiation ceremony was April 17 for students and their families, chapter alumni and invited guests. A reception followed at the chancellor’s home.
Andy Kriegh, a junior from Lawrence, is chapter president for 2011-12. Sue Geoffrion Neverve is president of Lawrence Mortar Board Alumni.
New Mortar Board members are selected by outgoing chapter members based on distinguished ability and achievement in scholarship, leadership and service. Students must have a 3.0 grade-point average and hold senior status during some or all of the academic year. Mathew Shepard, outgoing chapter president, said the average GPA for all newly initiated members was 3.76. Shepard is a spring 2011 graduate from Norton.
Mortar Board advisers are Mary Burg, executive assistant to the chancellor; Charlie Persinger, director of university ceremonies and special events; Charles Marsh, professor of journalism; and Sandy Garrett, Lawrence Mortar Board Alumni.
Founded originally in 1912 as the Torch senior women’s society, the organization became KU’s Mortar Board chapter in 1924, affiliating with the national Mortar Board women’s honor society. Mortar Board opened membership to men in 1975.
Local new member is Joseph Willima Stromberg, son of Wallace and Jill Stromberg of Sterling.