By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Senator Roberts announces Service Academy Nominations
Placeholder Image

U.S. Senator Pat Roberts today released the names of the young Kansans who will receive his nomination for appointments to U.S. Service Academies.
“I am very pleased to announce this year’s nominees,” Senator Roberts said. “These men and women are outstanding representatives of Kansas in every way, and I wish them all the best as they pursue their education and service to our nation.”
In making the nominations, Senator Roberts followed the recommendations of his Academy Screening Board. The nonpartisan board is comprised of seven volunteers from across Kansas and is overseen by Karin Wisdom, Senator Roberts’ District Director in Wichita. As part of the decision-making process, board members conduct personal interviews with the applicants, as well as review their written applications, G.P.A. and standardized test scores.
Once nominated by Senator Roberts, the applicants then must meet the individual admission requirements of each academy. The academies will make the final decision on who will receive an appointment of admission. Due to the limited number of openings at each academy, not every nominee will receive an appointment. The academies this spring will announce appointments for the class entering in July 2014. Senator Roberts’ nominees are as follows:
Air Force Academy, Colorado Springs, Colo.: Vincent Bailey, Hays; Jacob Brown, Kansas City; Jared Brown, Kansas City; Luke McGowan, Basehor; David Nolan, Overland Park; Michael Pieschl, Brookville; Scott Rider, Wichita; Jenna Schuckman, Hays; Lucas Scott, Olathe; Caitlin Smith, Olathe
Naval Academy- Annapolis, Md.: George Bousfield, Wichit; Hallie Breidenthal, Overland Park; Caulan Brooks, Larned; David Christie Jr., Lansing; Cory Donley, Salina;m Dallas Ernsdorff, Lenexa; Joshua Hanna, Winfield; Carter McCausland, Wichita; Matthew McKee, Salina; Alison Manske, Prairie Village; Eamon Mulholland, Atchison; Frey Pankratz, Wichita; Ross Puritty Jr., Wichita; Caitlyn Renne, Baldwin City; David Salinas Jr., Olathe; Madison Sargent, Prairie Village; Clay Schemm, Sharon Springs; Madeline Ward, Lenexa; Abigail White, Wichita; Richard Zirkle, Derby
U.S. Military Academy - West Point, N.Y.: Gabriel Bann, Wichita; Ryan Brunner, Topeka; Bryce Divis, Great Bend; Faith Ford, Wichita; Lexie Johnson, Bucyrus; Julie Linstra, Olathe; Kellen Mahood, Overland Park; Derek Martin, Conway Springs; Kyle Parker, Overland Park; Arran Rounds, Shawnee
Merchant Marine Academy-Kings Point, N.Y.: Leah Devers, Olathe; Mariah Klenke, Pittsburg; Stephen Lucy, Leawood; Zebadiah Willey, Olathe
Senator Roberts will begin accepting applications in March for nominations to academy classes entering in July 2015. Applicants wishing to find out more information on the process for nominations should visit Senator Roberts’ website at: