By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Sterling College Debate Team
edu lgp sterlingdebatepic
The Sterling College Debate and Forensics team poses after their first place sweep in the Cameron University Tournament that took place in Lawton, Okla. on December 3-4.

The Sterling College Debate and Forensics team returned from the Cameron University Tournament held in Lawton, Okla., December 3-4 with first place in overall debate team sweeps.
In overall individual events team sweeps, Sterling captured 2nd behind West Texas A&M. Sterling emerged as champions of the tournament from a field of 27 colleges and universities including Texas Tech, University of Oklahoma, Kansas Wesleyan, Northwest Missouri State, Louisiana Tech and others.
Debate and Forensics Coach Ken Troyer was especially proud of how the team responded to the competition. “This was the first time all season that we were able to travel with the majority of our team, so it’s good to see how we stack up as a team.”
In individual events, Emily Graham of Hutchinson, joined three other Sterling teammates already qualified for the American Forensics Association National tournament to be held in Kearney, Neb. in April. Those students include Paul Carrell and Dylan Langston, both of Blue Springs, Mo., and Jessica Brayton of Lyons.
Cameron University Results
David Bowers –  Lincoln Douglas Debate – 3rd
                Varsity Parliamentary Debate – Semi Finalist with McFarland
                Speaker Award – 2nd
Emily Graham –  Varsity Parliamentary Debate – Semi Finalist with Twiss
                Speaker Award – 4th
                Communication Analysis – 3rd
                Extemporaneous Speaking - 4th

Nolan Chaney -  Lincoln Douglas Debate – 3rd

Alex Lawhon-Bush - Extemporaneous Speaking - Semi-Finalist

Jessica Brayton - Extemporaneous Speaking – 1st
                  Impromptu Speaking – 5th

Paul Carrell -  Poetry – 1st
                Dramatic Interpretation - 2nd
                Duo Interpretation - 3rd with Langston
                Prose - 6th

Dylan Langston  Duo Interpretation - 3rd with Carrell

Shelby Twiss    Varsity Parliamentary Debate – Semi Finalist with Graham
                Extemporaneous Speaking - Semi Finalist
                Top Novice in Extemporaneous Speaking

Ryan McFarland  Varsity Parliamentary Debate – Semi Finalist with Bowers
                Speaker Award - 10th
Also competing at the tournament were Krisi Colburn, Clearwater, Jason Phillips, Fort Scott, Fay Carey and Melzora Towne, both of Sterling, Daniel Hogan, Lyons, and Rachel Eliserio, Phoenix, Ariz.