By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
13 inducted into NHS chapter at LHS
paw LHSNHSinduct
New members of the National Honor Society Chapter at LHS (standing) are pictured. Continuing current members from 2009 are also pictured, seated. Back row left to right: Brianne Smith, Logan Van Horn, Tyler Smith, Danette Unruh, Liberty Turner, Sarah Liston, Derik Trimmer, Kevin VonFeldt, Jeret Johnson, Jahman Hill, Katie Seeman, Virna Menezes and Kayla Langdon. Front row: Justin Van Vleet, Karlee Rainbolt, Kjersti Olsen, Shanna Prescott, Brittanie Miller, Tyler Gleason, Ivan Garcia, Berre Bert and Joelle Keith. - photo by COURTESY PHOTO

Thirteen new members for 2010, in the Larned High School National Honor Society chapter, were inducted in a ceremony Tuesday evening in the LHS Choir Room. Brittanie Miller, vice president of the chapter and a continuing member from 2009, welcomed the new members.

Kjersti Olsen, secretary of the group and also a 2009 and continuing member, told the history of the local chapter.

A candlelight ceremony featured 2009 and continuing members: Berre Bert, Scholarship; Joelle Keith, Service; Shanna Prescott, Leadership, and Ivan Garcia, Character.

Tyler Gleason, also a continuing member from the 2009 group, led all members present in the NHS Pledge. "Quotes" were spoken by Keith, Justin VanVleet and Karlee Rainbolt, all continuing members from a year ago. Miller made closing remarks.

A reception with refreshments was then held in the Student Lounge.

The new members inducted Tuesday are: Liberty Turner, a senior; Jahman Hill, Kayla Langdon, Sarah Liston, Jeret Johnson, Katie Seeman, Brianne Smith, Tyler Smith, Derik Trimmer, Danette Unruh, Logan Van Horn, Kevin VonFeldt, all juniors; and Virna Memezes, honorary member, exchange student from Brazil.