By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Seward County beats Cowley for Region VI championship
Brunson, Key named to all-tourney team
Placeholder Image

No. 17 Seward County Community College’s men’s basketball team defeated Cowley 62-48 Tuesday night in the NJCAA Region VI final at Hartman Arena in Park City to advance to the national tournament, which is set for March 20-24 at the Hutchinson Sports Arena.
The Saints, 27-6, the Kansas Jayhawk Community College Western Division champion, proved too much for Eastern Division Cowley, 24-9, with tournament most valuable player Deverall Biggs leading the way.
Barton, 26-7, eliminated 76-67 by Cowley in Monday’s semifinal, landed two players on the all-region team in sophomore power forward Dwayne Brunson and freshman guard Algie Key. The duo helped spark the Cougars to a 68-64 upset of No. 5-ranked Coffeyville in a Sunday afternoon quarterfinal.
The No. 2-ranked Hutchinson women kept an unbeaten string alive, improving to 32-0 and advancing to play on their home court in the national tournament after beating 20th-ranked Independence, 43-41, in Tuesday’s Region VI final at Hartman Arena.


All-Tournament Team

Tramell White, Dodge City
Dwayne Brunson, Barton
Algie Key, Barton
Richard Carter, Cloud County
Devon Branch, Cloud County
Kamren Belin, Cowley
Adonis Bailey, Cowley
James Milliken, Cowley
Brice Jenkins Seward County
Daveon Boardingham, Seward County
MVP: Deverell Biggs, Seward County

Ashlynn Knoll, Seward County
Ashley Walker, Garden City
Ashley Evans, Cloud County
Jamillah Bonner, Butler
Breanna Robinson, Labette
Dominique Mosley, Independence
Diara Moore, Independence
Jackie Patterson, Hutchinson
Laura Patrick, Hutchinson
Alysse Barlow, Hutchinson
MVP: Jackie Patterson, Hutchinson