By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Five Great Bend girls win wrestling titles
Great Bend Bre Ridgeway2
Great Bend’s Breanna Ridgeway puts a hold on Altamont’s Abbie Jones Friday. Ridgeway pinned Jones in a battle of Kansas girls wrestling state champions. - photo by Jim Misunas, Great Bend Tribune

Five Panther girls win wrestling titles

MCPHERSON – The inaugural McPherson girls tournament finished with five Great Bend champions – Breckyn Ellitt (101); Ali Pierce (109); Ashlyn Weber (116); defending state champion Breanna Ridgeway (130) and Lexi Deines (130B).

Runner-up medals were earned by Abby White (116), Katie Kuhlman (123B) and Jazmin Castellanos (123).



101—Breckyn Elliott , 1st;  Breckyn Elliott  over Diana Hatch Newton  0:22  – Breckyn Elliott  over Riley Baker McPherson  0:19  – Breckyn Elliott  over Lainie Burkhart Goddard-Eisenhower  2:27

101B— Karley Stukey, 3rd;  Karley Stukey  over Sonia Vazquez Hutchinson Dec 5-4  – Natalie Hedlund McPherson over Karley Stukey   2:41  – Elia Berquist Newton over Karley Stukey   1:28

109—Ali Pierce, GB, 1st; Ali Pierce  over Emily Torres Newton  0:27  – Ali Pierce  over Aubree Martens McPherson  3:59  – Ali Pierce  over Natasha Reyes   2:21  – Ali Pierce  over Caitlyn White   0:40

109—Natasha Reyes, GB, 4th;  Natasha Reyes  over Caitlyn White   0:33  – Ali Pierce  over Natasha Reyes   2:21  – Aubree Martens McPherson over Natasha Reyes   0:58  – Emily Torres Newton over Natasha Reyes  Dec 7-0

109—Caitlyn White, GB, 5th;  Natasha Reyes  over Caitlyn White   0:33  – Emily Torres Newton over Caitlyn White   1:45  – Ali Pierce  over Caitlyn White   0:40  – Aubree Martens McPherson over Caitlyn White   0:26

116—Ashlyn Weber, 1st;  Ashlyn Weber  over Jaye Skinner Newton Dec 9-6  – Ashlyn Weber  over Abby White   1:23

116—Abby White, 2nd; Abby White  over Jaye Skinner Newton Dec 6-0  – Ashlyn Weber  over Abby White   1:23

123—Jazmin Castellanos, GB, 2nd  – Jazmin Castellanos  over Braelynn Patterson McPherson  0:36  – Jazmin Castellanos  over Miriya Scott  M. For.  – Jazmin Castellanos  over Allison Carder Nickerson  0:39  – Maritza Jimenez Hutchinson over Jazmin Castellanos  Dec 4-1

123—Miriya Scott, GB, 4th; Maritza Jimenez Hutchinson over Miriya Scott   0:32  – Miriya Scott  over Allison Carder Nickerson  3:22  – Jazmin Castellanos  over Miriya Scott  M. For.  – Braelynn Patterson McPherson over Miriya Scott  M. For.

123 B—Katie Kuhlman, 2nd  – Amethyst Hale McPherson over Katie Kuhlman   1:28  – Katie Kuhlman  over Jessika Chapman WaKeeney-Trego Community  0:35  – Katie Kuhlman  over Hannah Reddick Fredonia Dec 5-1

123 C—Jaydon Davis, 3rd;  Jayden Rosenhoover Fredonia over Jaydon Davis   1:29  – Jaydon Davis  over Destiny Murrow McPherson  1:39  – Zahirah Tanaka Junction City over Jaydon Davis   3:45

130—Breanna Ridgeway, 1st; Breanna Ridgeway  over Kaleigh Marbut McPherson  0:50  – Breanna Ridgeway  over Catalina Palacios McPherson  0:37  – Breanna Ridgeway  over Lauren Lemon Goddard-Eisenhower  1:24

130B— Lexi Deines, 1st; Lexi Deines  over MaKenzie Fors McPherson  2:26  – Lexi Deines  over Arriana Gross McPherson  2:53  – Lexi Deines  over Cheyenne Carder Nickerson  0:36

136—Teresa Garcia, 4th; Jessica Kelling McPherson over Teresa Garcia  Dec 7-5  – Dakota Ely Canton-Galva over Teresa Garcia   1:05  – Savannah Green Junction City over Teresa Garcia   0:55

136B—Rosa Campos, 3rd  – Lyah Duenas Junction City over Rosa Campos   2:39  – Rosa Campos  over Cara Hubenet McPherson  1:40  – Alexis Ellis Newton over Rosa Campos   3:46

143—Marissa Hanrahan, GB, 3rd  – Marissa Hanrahan  over Maylee Edwardsq Newton  1:18  – Marissa Hanrahan  over Briana Perez   0:34  – Marissa Hanrahan  over Brooke Swango Junction City  1:35  – Haley Schafer McPherson over Marissa Hanrahan   2:39  – Sydney Boyle WaKeeney-Trego Community over Marissa Hanrahan   3:46

143—Briana Perez, GB, 5th  – Briana Perez  over Brooke Swango Junction City Dec 9-7  – Marissa Hanrahan  over Briana Perez   0:34  – Haley Schafer McPherson over Briana Perez   0:35  – Sydney Boyle WaKeeney-Trego Community over Briana Perez  M. For.  – Maylee Edwardsq Newton over Briana Perez  M. For.

155—Destiny Lewis, 3rd Semifinals – Holli Giddings McPherson over Destiny Lewis   2:30 Cons. Semis – Destiny Lewis  over Jaymie Murry Newton  0:18 3rd Place Match – Destiny Lewis  over Kaley Logue WaKeeney-Trego Community  0:43

191—Dakota Baldwin, 5th  – Emilie Schweizer Buhler over Dakota Baldwin   0:11  – Elisa Robinson Junction City over Dakota Baldwin  MD 14-6  – Kyeal Mogbo  over Dakota Baldwin   0:26  – Maria Valdovinos  over Dakota Baldwin   2:38

191—Kyeal Mogbo, 3rd Kyeal Mogbo  over Maria Valdovinos   0:33  – Kyeal Mogbo  over Dakota Baldwin   0:26  – Elisa Robinson Junction City over Kyeal Mogbo   2:10  – Emilie Schweizer Buhler over Kyeal Mogbo   0:45

191—Maria Valdovinos, 4th  – Kyeal Mogbo  over Maria Valdovinos   0:33  – Emilie Schweizer Buhler over Maria Valdovinos   0:40  – Maria Valdovinos  over Dakota Baldwin   2:38  – Elisa Robinson Junction City over Maria Valdovinos  TF 17-2 3:20