By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
'Grapple on the Gridiron' starts Thursday
Colorado Panthers
The Great Bend wrestlers competed in Pueblo, Colo. recently.

Outdoor wrestling scheduled

Hot-weather permitting, the Great Bend wrestling program will showcase outdoor wrestling “Grapple on the Gridiron” Thursday (girls) and Friday (boys) at Memorial Stadium. 

The forecast high is 102 degrees Thursday and 91 Friday.

Wrestling will be staged outdoors about 8:30 p.m. Thursday and Friday. Indoor wrestling starts at 11 a.m. Thursday and Friday at the Panther Athletic Center. Thirteen girls high schools and 18 boys high schools will be represented.

Four girls attended the recent Labette County wrestling camp, which concluded with a tournament. State qualifier Daizy Gomez, Katie Kuhlman, Sierra Ferguson and Jasalyn Vanaman competed. Kansas 5A state champion Bre Ridgeway headlines the Panthers’ returnees next season. 

“It’s good for the girls to gain technique,’ said Great Bend wrestling coach Nathan Broeckelman. “All the girls did well and two were undefeated.”

Nineteen wrestkers recently traveled to Pueblo, Colo. for a 6-3 dual-match record. Scott Heilman (4-0) and Jacob Windholz (8-1) led the way. Daizy Gomez (4-1) lost to a Colorado state runner-up. Emanuel “Kiwi” Prieto (4-2) beat the 5A Kansas sixth-place state finisher.

“There were a lot of tough matches and we were happy about how we competed,” Broeckelman said. “The three matches we lost to club teams which feature the best wrestlers from several high schools.”

The boys feature 5A state champion Wyatt Weber and 5A state runner-up Kadin Spragis with all state-qualifying points returning next season. 

“It’s a good way to get mat time,” Broeckelman said. “We think it’s cool to wrestle outside. The school board approved it and the kids have enjoyed it.”

COLORADO RESULTS—Scott Heilman 4-0, Jacob Windholz 8-1, Avery Wolf 6-2, Skyler McMullen 4-1, Daizy Gomez 4-1, Caden Spore 3-1, Jace Schartz 2-1, Cooper Liles 4-2, Emanuel “Kiwi” Preito 4-2, Keyven Schroder 3-2, Matthew Johnson 4-3, Tristan Tomlinson 2-2, Brody Schnoebelen 2-2, Zach Davis 2-2, Kaden Spragis 1-1, Hayden Liles 1-1, Kaiden Hoffman 2-3, Maddox Harmon 2-4, Aiden Davidson 2-5