By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
NHRA Summit Drag Racing Series
Placeholder Image

Todd Piper, Robert Steffen, Nick Hastings and Mark Schwalm each scored NHRA Summit Racing Series National Championships at Auto Club Raceway at Pomona. This year marks the 16th season that NHRA and Summit Racing Equipment have crowned national champions.
Piper out of Wamego,  and Great Bend’s Sunflower Rod and Custom Associaiton Dragstrip took the early lead in his Super Pro final round match up with Chris Bear and held on for the win running 179.04 mph in 7.182 seconds as Bear clocked in at 7.449, 181.25. Piper’s dad Larry competed in the first Summit National Championship back in 2000.
Olympia, Wash., and Bremerton Raceway racer Steffen used a .016 second reaction time to get his ‘78 Nova out front on Brock Moshier, then ran 10.564 on the 10.56 dial for the win in Pro. Steffen’s holeshot start forced Moshier to break out, running too quick with a 9.107 on his 9.12 dial in his ‘71 Vega.
The Sportsman championship went to Nick Hastings representing Summit Motorsports Park. The Shelby, Ohio, resident had a nice .011 second reaction time combined with a lap of 12.874 seconds at 80.84 mph in his ‘83 Mustang to defeat Adam Tabor who left early with a red light foul start.
The final Summit championship went to Mark Schwalm in the Motorcycle class as Schwalm covered the famed quarter-mile in 7.714 seconds at 167.51 mph on his ‘85 Kawasaki. Schwalm ran down Rick Poole and his ‘01 Suzuki that clocked in at 8.393, 149.83 mph. Schwalm also recorded a perfect .000 reaction time in his semifinal run to end Tom Klemme’s winning streak here at the Summit Championship having won three national championships (2008, 2011-2012).
The following are the final results from the NHRA Summit Drag Racing Series National Championship at Auto Club Raceway at Pomona:
Todd Piper, Wamego, Kan., (S.R.C.A. Dragstrip) Dragster, 7.182, 179.04  def. Chris Bear, Northwood, Ohio, (Summit Motorsports Park), Dragster, 7.449, 181.25.
Robert Steffen, Olympia, Wash., (Bremerton Raceway) Chevy Nova, 10.564, 125.30  def. Brock Moshier, Lititz, Pa., (Cecil County Dragway) Chevy Vega, 9.107, 137.18.
Nick Hastings, Shelby, Ohio, (Summit Motorsports Park) Ford Mustang, 12.874, 80.84  def. Adam Tabor, Vancouver, Wash., (Portland Int’l Raceway) Chevy Nova, foul.
Mark Schwalm, New Ringgold, Pa., (Numidia Raceway) Kawasaki, 7.714, 167.51  def. Rick Poole, New Franklin, Ohio, (Summit Motorsports Park) Suzuki, 8.393, 149.83.