By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Panther, Cardinal make Shrine Bowl game
Dalton Miller rush.jpg
Dalton Miller - photo by Hugo Gonzalez



All-state safety Dalton Miller will rejoin Great Bend head coach Erin Beck in the 2020 Kansas Shrine Bowl.

Miller is Great Bend’s all-time leading tackler who delivered game-winning plays the past four years for the Panthers. Miller earned All-State 5A honors and is a four-time Western Athletic Conference player.

“Dalton Miller is very well respected by the football teams we’ve played,” Beck said. “Dalton is the first player coaches always wanted to talk about. To make the Shrine Bowl is a great opportunity for a player and Dalton is excited about that.”

Miller started at quarterback, but made an impact defensively.

“Dalton is obviously a great selection by the Shrine Bowl committee,” Beck said. “He’s done an amazing job for Great Bend football the past four years. We get to team together to represent Great Bend football one last time. It’ll be a great opportunity.”

Beck will coach the quarterbacks and be involved in the offensive side for the 2020 Shrine Bowl.

Hoisington’s all-time leading rusher and tackler Wyatt Pedigo was also selected. Pedigo rushed for 5,171 yards and 74 career rushing touchdowns. He accounted for 348 tackles.

During last season, Pedigo rushed for 2,352 yards and 37 touchdowns with 115 tackles. Pedigo is a two-time 3-1A state wrestling champion.


Xavier Bell, Andover Central; Hayden Brown, Hays High; Jeremiah Brown, Wichita West; Jared Casey, Plainville; Refujio Chairez, Garden City; Preven Christon, Maize High; Alex Conn, Derby; Brady Dinkel, St. Francis; Tyler Dorsey, Derby; Scotti Easter, Andale; Beau Foster, Dodge City; Jacob Fredrickson, Buhler; Ty Garrett, Salina South; Garrett Harmison, Beloit; Creighton Johnson, Beloit; Jackson Kavanagh, Salina Central; Dawson Martin, Conway Springs; Kade Melvin, Norton; Dalton Miller, Great Bend; Trevion Mitchell, Maize South; Joel Montgomery, Smith Center; Carter Morrow, Goddard; Chance Omli, Goddard Eisenhower; Hadley Panzer, Lakin; Wyatt Pedigo, Hoisington; Riley Petz, Cheney; Kale Schroeder, Sedgwick; Sam Shields, Manhattan; Phoenix Smith, Wichita Carroll; Calvin Stapp, Colby; Nolan Streit, Clearwater; Kel Stroud, Chapman; Cody Stufflebean, McPherson; Javon Wheeler, Wichita Northwest; Joe Williams, Wichita North; Hunter Yager, Scott City