By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Panther girls ranked No. 3 in wrestling rankings
Great Bend Bre Ridgeway2
Great Bend’s Breanna Ridgeway puts a hold on Altamont’s Abbie Jones Friday. Ridgeway pinned Jones in a battle of Kansas girls wrestling state champions. - photo by Jim Misunas, Great Bend Tribune

Great Bend’s defending state champion Bre Ridgeway (28-0, 130) is ranked first and the Panthers are ranked third in the girls state wrestling rankings provided by the Kansas Wrestling Coaches Association.

Great Bend’s Breckyn Elliott (30-4, 101) is ranked third.

Larned’s defending state champion Ava Mull (20-0, 170) is ranked first and Hoisington’s Bailey Sanders (17-1, 160) is ranked second.

GIRLS TEAM RANKINGS—1—Nickerson; 2—Fort Scott; 3—Great Bend; 4—McPherson; 5—Washburn Rural; 6—Lakin; 7—Osawatomie; 8—Junction City;  9—Larned; 10—Paola.


101—1— Amanda Newcomb, Osawatomie; 2—Kassidy Leiszler, Concordia; 3—Breckyn Elliott, Great Bend (30-4); 4—Josiah Ortiz, Lakin; 5—Riley Cagle, Fort Scott; 6—Chloe Gile, Labette Co.; 

109—1—Alexis Allen, Indepedence; 2—Isabelle Ortiz, Lakin; 3—Anna Cullens, Wellington; 4—Jadyn Thompson, Pratt; 5—Sarah Zimmerman, Hays; 6—Amelia Martinez, Holcomb

116—1— Nichole Moore, Nickerson (30-7); 2—Anayka Besco, Rose Hill; 3—Eowyynn Codney, Burlington;  4—Mikyan Cain, Oakley; 5—Kyler Smith, Hutchinson; 6—Delani Agnew, Wichita Southeast

123—1— Jordyn Knecht, Paola; 2— Elise Rose, Marysville; 3—Kayleigh Marbut, McPherson; 4—Maritza Jimenez, Hutchinson; 5—Hannah Lynn, BVSW; 6—Shelby Kessler, Mission Valley

130—1—Bre Ridgeway, Great Bend; 2—Brianna Randles, Topeka West; 3—Madison Gray, Lawrence Free State; 4—Anjelina Serrano, Garden City; 5—Marissa Porsch, Hoxie; 6—Montana Grahem, Jefferson West

136—1—Sara Lake, KC Piper; 2—Cassidy Anderson, Caney Valley; 3—Gianna Culbert, Burlingame;  4—Nevaeh Tauer, Spring Hill; 5—Breya Brown, Fort Scott; 6—Xara Bacci, Andover Central

143—1—Kammie Schanz, Mulvane; 2—Hannah Vann, Fort Scott; 3—Abbie Jones, Labette County; 4—Liva Swift, Pratt; 5—Sydney Boyle, Trego; 6—Cadence Christensen, Basehor- Linwood

155—1—Morgan Mayginnes, Onaga; 2—Bailey Sanders, Hoisington; 3—Marissa Murray, Wichita South; 4—Jacque Tschohl, Andover Central; 5—Holli Giddings, McPherson; 6—Darbi Weidl, Ottawa

170—1—Ava Mull, Larned (20-0); 2—Jolie Ziegler, Council Grove; 3—Lyndsey Buechman, Abilene; 4—Rebekah Smith, Washburn Rural; 5—Kylee Eastwood, Prairie View; 6—Abriel Lisk, Osawatomie

191—1—Elisa Robinson, Junction City; 2— Alicia Martin Olathe North; 3—Kylie Merideth, Sabetha; 4—Hannah Jackson, Leavenworth; 5—Maranda Bell, Shawnee Heights; 6—Payton Sholander, Douglass

235—1—Dajia Anderson, Washburn Rural; 2—Maddi Miller, Nickerson (14-0); 3—Mikayla Rivera, Olathe West; 4—Chelsea Armbruster, Chapman; 5—Drucilla Longbrake, Atchison County; 6—Rebekah Franklin Salina Central