By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Larned, Ellinwood also place players on first teams
spt kp Hoisington Flagor
Hoisingtons Mallory Flagor (32), who leads three girls from Hoisington on All-MCAA teams, defends a shot during the Lady Cardinals game against Minneapolis on Saturday, Jan. 22. - photo by Kevin Price Great Bend Tribune

The All-Mid-Central Activities Association list is in and no high school is more represented than  Hoisington, which claimed eight of the 24 spots on the girls’ and boys’ first and second teams.
The Cardinals have five players with three on the boys’ first-team all-conference list. Hoisington led in the MCAA standings, going 6-0 in conference play.
Derrick Kaiser, Cody Stetler and Ryan Bieberle each made the first-team list.
Stetler led the Cardinals, averaging a double-double with 15.9 points and 11 rebounds per game.
Kaiser and Bieberle each averaged in double figures as well, scoring 14.3 and 11.4 points, respectively.
Hoisington seniors Luke Becker and Dustin Broeder received second-team honors.
Ellinwood has three players on the all-conference teams. Kyle Corbett made first-team All-MCAA while his teammates Kyle Blakeslee and Brett Whelan made the second team.
Larned has two players voted to the All-MCAA teams by the conference’s coaches. One on the first team, Justin Vratil and one on the second team, Jahman Hill.
On the girls’ teams, only Thomas More Prep-Marian, which led in the MCAA standings at 5-1 this season, had more selections for all-conference teams than Hoisington.
The Lady Cardinals had three players make All-MCAA teams. Junior post player Mallory Flagor was voted to the first team.
Belle Brickley and Jordin Greer both made the second team. Greer is the only freshman to make the list.
Larned placed two girls on the first team, Amanda Haberman and Brittany Perez, and one on the second team, Brittanie Miller.
Ellinwood has two players on the second team, Lauren Thill and Bailey Schartz.

Stafford places two
on all-league teams

The Stafford boys’ basketball team placed two players on the All-Heart of the Plains League teams.
Tanner Newell was one of five unanimous selections from the league.
Alex Setter was selected to the all-league team.

MCAA all-conference selections
First team

Derrick Kaiser    Hoisington
Cody Stetler    Hoisington
Justin Vratil    Larned
Kyle Corbett    Ellinwood
Ryan Bieberle    Hoisington

Second team
Kyle Blakeslee    Ellinwood
Nick Hammeke    TMP-Marian
Luke Becker    Hoisington
Jahman Hill    Larned
Brett Whelan    Ellinwood
Dustin Broeder    Hoisington
Taylor Pfeifer    TMP-Marian

First team

Rachel Jacbos    TMP-Marian
Mallory Flagor    Hoisington
Amanda Haberman    Larned
Brittany Perez    Larned
Heather Ruder    TMP-Marian

Second team
Lauren Thill    Ellinwood
Jenna Long    TMP-Marian
Jordin Greer    Hoisington
Bailey Schartz    Ellinwood
Brittanie Miller    Larned
Taylor Dinges    TMP-Marian
Belle Brickley    Hoisington

Heart of the Plains League
All-league selections
Unanimous Selections

Cody Gridley    Cunningham
Hunter Pittman    Pretty Prairie
Tanner Hines    Pretty Prairie
Luke Yearout    South Barber
Tanner Newell    Stafford

Taylor King    Burrton
Caleb Green    Cen. Christian
Alex Hull    Norwich
Dylon Molz    South Barber
Alex Setter    Stafford

Honorable Mention
Jared Starkey    Cen. Christian
Garrett Beat    Cunningham
Ryan Waters    Fairfield
Harrison Magruder    Norwich
Ben Lampe    Pretty Prairie
Daniel Krehbiel    Pretty Prairie
Christian Johnston    South Barber