By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Panthers undersized post player named as first-team all-conference selection
spt ETHAN HENDERSON first team
Great Bend High School senior post player Ethan Henderson puts up a jump hook in the lane during the Panthers win over arch-rvial Hays in early January. Henderson is a first-team All-Western Athletic Conference selection. - photo by Mack McClure Great Bend Tribune file photo

Ethan Henderson displays the menacing type with the shaved head and tattoos, a characteristic he took onto the basketball court for the Great Bend High School Panthers.
Henderson, a tireless undersized post player, probably led the Western Athletic Conference in hustle plays this past season, getting his fair share of floor burns.
A 6-foot-1 senior, Henderson was selected as a first-team All-WAC performer in a vote by league coaches.
“He was very deserving of that honor,” Great Bend head coach Chris Battin said of Henderson. “He was a guy that knew his role and played his role very well.
“He got a lot of points by going to glass and hustling and in all reality, that’s why he was the player he was.”
Henderson averaged nine points and 8.5 rebounds per game for the 5-15 Panthers — both team highs.
Henderson joined Player of the Year Brady Werth of Hays, Liberal’s JJ Lewis, Garden City’s Bo Banner and Dodge City’s Jace Larson on the first team.
Dennis Hamilton of three-time WAC champion Dodge City was named as coach of the year.
“Ethan did a wonderful job with the leadership role and his sheer hustle plays and determination helped us in a lot of games,” Battin said.

Western Athletic Conference
Basketball Selections


First Team
  Brady Werth              Soph.                  Hays
  JJ Lewis                    Senior                 Liberal
  Bo Banner                Senior                 Garden City
  Jace Larson              Junior                 Dodge City
  Ethan Henderson       Senior                 Great Bend
Honorable Mention
  Matt Goedeken         Senior                 Dodge City
  Shaphan Gross         Senior                 Dodge City
  Tristan Nanninga       Senior                  Garden City
  Lane Clark                Junior                     Hays
  Will Ross                  Senior                     Liberal

Player of the Year: Brady Werth, Hays
Coach of the Year: Dennis Hamilton, Dodge City