By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
LaCrosse earns most All-CPL selections
Placeholder Image

The LaCrosse High School football team was the big winner of the All-Central Prairie League selections.
The Leopards finished as the Class 2A state runner-up, losing to Centralia 20-14 in overtime. LaCrosse has 11 players on the all-league teams.
The CPL had five of its eight teams make the state playoffs in Class 2A, Eight-Man Division-I and Division-II.
Macksville, which bumped fellow CPL team Ness City from the playoffs, had nine players on All-CPL teams.
The Mustangs were led by Seth Filbert, who is a first-team quarterback and a second-team linebacker. Filbert completed 172 of 261 passes for 2,466 yards and 31 touchdowns.
Adam Oak led the Mustangs with 715 rushing yards, 1,271 receiving yards. Oak is a first-team defensive back, kickoff return specialist and utility back.
They are joined by Clayton Wood on the league’s first team as a defensive lineman.
Otis-Bison, which lost to Eight-Man Division-II state champion Thunder Ridge in a semifinal game, has eight selections.
The Cougars were led by Dylan Wissman, who rushed for 1,203 yards and 21 touchdowns. Wissman is a second-team selection as a running back and a linebacker.
Otis-Bison has five first-team selections, including Dominic Manley, Mathew Crotinger, Sam Higgason, Brandon Pechanec and Patrick Piper.
Central Plains, which lost to Montezuma-South Gray in the state quarterfinals, had nine players on the all-league teams.
Benn Kirmer is the only Oilers player who made the first team.
Kirmer, who rushed for 1,551 yards and 29 touchdowns this season, is a first-team running back and defensive back.
St. John had four players selected as All-CPL.
Pat Prescott is a first-team linebacker, a second-team running back and an honorable mention selection as a punt return specialist.


First team

Zach VonLintel, Victoria, DL/OL
Dylan Engel, LaCrosse, DL
Dominic Manley, Otis-Bison, DL/OL
Clayton Wood, Macksville, DL
Blake McVicker, Ness City, OL
Trey Renz, LaCrosse, OL
Sam Higgason, Otis-Bison, OC
Dalton Gantz, Ness City, LB
Kip Keeley, LaCrosse, LB/RB
Pat Prescott, St. John, LB
Tanner Yohe, LaCrosse, LB
Mathew Crotinger, Otis-Bison, DB/PR
Cory Dinkel, Victoria, DB
Benn Kirmer, Central Plains, DB/RB
Adam Oak, Macksville, DB/KR/UB
Tayler Stull, LaCrosse, DB
Austin Webs, LaCrosse, DB
Eirik Wallevik, LaCrosse, K
Brandon Pachanec, Otis-Bison, TE
Tanner Yohe, LaCrosse, TE
Levi Hirsh, Kinsley, OS
Austin Webs, LaCrosse, OS
Seth Filbert, Macksville, QB
Tayler Stull, LaCrosse, QB
Patrick Piper, Otis-Bison, RB
Drew Clarke, Ness City, P
Second team
Jacob Blunt, St. John, DL/OL
Colin Foos, Ness City, DL
Kyle Sramek, LaCrosse, DL
Tucker Vonlehe, Ness City, DL/OL
Mathew Demel, Otis-Bison, OL
Javy Ortiz, Macksville, OL
Kyler Schlochtermeier, Central Plains, OL
Kelton Unrein, Victoria, OL
Matt Wagner, LaCrosse, OL
Will Radenberg, Central Plains, OC
Kyle Sramek, LaCrosse, OC
Jorge Baray, Macksville, LB
Seth Filbert, Macksville, LB
Patrick Piper, Otis-Bison, LB
Skyler Turner, Central Plains, LB
Dylan Wissman, Otis-Bison, LB/RB
Schuyler Brown, St. John, DB
Levi Hirsh, Kinsley, DB
Koltyn Ratliff, Ness City, DB
Clayton Roth, Victoria, DB
Tanner Tranbarger, Macksville, DB/OS
Taylor Tranbarger, Macksville, OS
Colton Zink, Central Plains, K
Benn Kirmer, Central Plains, KR
Tayler Stull, LaCrosse, KR
Patrick Hubbard, Central Plains, TE
Mathew Crotinger, Otis-Bison, OS
Garrett Flax, Ness City, RB
Dalton Gantz, Ness City, RB
Pat Prescott, St. John, RB
Dylan Prosser, Central Plains, UB
Cory Dinkel, Victoria, P
Austin Webs, LaCrosse, PR
Honorable Mention
Jeremy Huffman, Macksville, DL
Austin McAlonan, Victoria, DL
Dylan Prosser, Central Plains, DL
Nick Scheppman, Central Plains, DL
Clayton Basgall, LaCrosse, DB
Matthew Frank, Ness City, DB
Garrett Flax, Ness City, KR/PR
Joey Rufenacht, Ness City, OC
Tim Stueder, Central Plains, TE
Zuriel Reyes, St. John, OS
Nathan Frame, Kinsley, QB
Trevor Keller, Otis-Bison, QB
Levi Morss, LaCrosse, RB
Kip Keeley, LaCrosse, P
Adolfo Ibarra, Macksville, P
Pat Prescott, St. John, PR