By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
St. John-Hudson leads all-league selections
All-Central Prairie League
spt kp St J g Osborne
St. John-Hudson senior Morgan Osborne (11) joined teammate Jamie Waters on the All-Central Prairie Leagues first team. - photo by Kevin Price Great Bend Tribune

Three high school basketball teams from the Central Prairie League made it to a state basketball tournament.
St. John-Hudson’s boys won a Class 1A Division-I title, beating South Haven 70-50.
St. John’s girls finished fourth in 1A D-I, and the Ness City boys finished fourth in 2A.
It was no surprise that the three unanimous selections came from St. John.
Senior Spencer Nusser and sophomore Dean Wade were unanimously selected for the All-CPL first team voted on by the league’s coaches.
Wade finished with a double-double in the championship game, scoring 19 points and grabbing 14 rebounds.
Nusser finished with 10 points.
The Tigers had four players make the all-league teams.
Macksville, which had three players receive All-CPL honors, had Adolfo Ibarra and Tanner Tranbarger on the first team.
Ness City’s Colin Foos rounded out the top team.
Central Plains had three players make All-CPL teams, and Otis-Bison had two.
For the girls, St. John senior Jamie Waters was the only unanimous selection.
She was joined by senior teammate Morgan Osborne on the league’s first team. The Lady Tigers had four selections.
Jennifer Hitschmann, who was a first-team selection, led five Central Plains girls with all-league honors.
Kinsley’s Brittany Gleason and Victoria’s Kristin Huser also made the first team.
Otis-Bison had two players selected, and Macksville had one.

Basketball Selections


First Team
*Spencer Nusser        Senior         St. John
*Dean Wade              Soph.          St. John
Colin Foos                 Senior          Ness City
Adolfo Ibarra            Senior           Macksville
Tanner Tranbarger    Junior            Macksville

Second Team
Layne Bieberle          Soph.            Central Plains
Nathan Frame           Senior           Kinsley
Kip Keeley                Senior           La Crosse
Kade Kinnamon         Junior           St. John
Zuriel Reyes             Junior           St. John
Dylan Wissman         Senior          Otis-Bison

Third Team
Braeden Crites          Freshman    Central Plains
Bryan Dome              Soph.         Victoria
Dalton Dreiling           Senior        Victoria
Dalton Gantz              Senior        Ness City
Tucker VonLehe         Senior        Ness City

Honorable Mention
Marshall Jay             Junior          La Crosse
Tyler Maier               Senior         Otis-Bison
Phillip Nowak            Senior         Victoria
Michael Ryan            Freshman    Central Plains
Jordan Welch            Junior          Macksville


First Team
*Jamie Waters           Senior         St. John
Brittany Gleason         Senior        Kinsley
Jennifer Hitschmann    Senior        Central Plains
Kristin Huser              Junior         Victoria
Morgan Osborne         Senior        St. John

Second Team
Hannah Bannister       Senior        Otis-Bison
Teresa Christie          Soph.          St. John
Audra Nowak             Junior          Victoria
Reagan Phelan           Freshman    Central Plains
Jessie Rubottom         Junior          Ness City

Third Team
Erin Flax                    Senior         Ness City
Janae Hekele             Senior         Central Plains
Katie Hipp                  Senior         Central Plains
Alexis Witt                 Junior          St. John
Mindy Wood               Senior         Macksville

Honorable Mention
Amber Espinosa         Soph.          Kinsley
Shaylee Meyers         Senior         Kinsley
Alyssa Oborny           Soph.          La Crosse
Kim Pechanec           Senior          Otis-Bison
Taylor Rolfs              Freshman     Central Plains
Morgan West            Freshman      La Crosse

* - unanimous selection