By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Urias, Rodriguez make All-WAC first team
spt kp GBHS Urias
Great Bend junior forward Alexander Urias (12) joins senior Noel Rodriguez among the first-team All-Western Athletic Conference selections. - photo by Kevin Price Great Bend Tribune

The Great Bend High School boys’ soccer team had five players selected to either the first or honorable mention group in the Western Athletic Conference team.
Senior Noel Rodriguez and junior Alexander Urias were both selected as first-team all-conference.
Both Rodriguez and Urias finished the season with 17 goals apiece.
Rodriguez recorded back-to-back hat tricks in the last regular-season game and the first postseason game.
Urias scored the winning penalty kick in the South Central Region 2 championship game against Hays.
The Panthers won 3-2 after 24 shooters took penalty kicks in the shootout.
Hays had two selections, one on each team.
Oscar Torres, Javier Guerra and Jose Mijares were each selected for the honorable mention team.
The Panthers finished the season with a 15-4 record. They were bumped from the Class 5A state tournament by Wichita’s Kapaun-Mt. Carmel in the quarterfinals 6-3.
Liberal led the WAC with six selections. The Redskins beat Stilwell-Blue Valley 3-1 to win the 5A state title.
Liberal’s Eduardo Moreno was selected as the WAC’s Player of the Year, while Liberal head coach Lori Navarro was selected as the conference’s Coach of the Year.
Dodge City had five selections with three on the first team and two on the honorable mention.
Dodge City was knocked from the 6A regional tournament by Wichita North.
Garden City had one first-team selection and two honorable-mention selections.
Garden City made it to the second round of the 6A regional tournament before falling to Maize in a shootout.


Player of the Year —
Eduardo Moreno, Liberal
Coach of the Year — Lori Navarro, Liberal

First team
Alex Rodela            Dodge City      junior
Vicente Estrella       Dodge City      senior
Noel Rodriguez      Great Bend       senior
Tanner Staab          Hays                senior
Juan Vicenta           Garden City     senior
Isai Gutierrez          Liberal             senior
Eduardo Moreno    Liberal            senior
Jose Campos          Liberal            senior
Auden Portillo         Liberal            senior
Erik Hernandez       Dodge City     senior
Alexander Urias      Great Bend     junior

Honorable mention
Hector Navarro        Dodge City               junior
Oscar Torres            Great Bend              senior
Javier Guerra            Great Bend              junior
Shane Sulzman          Hays                       senior
Jesus Mendez           Liberal                     junior
Kellen Griffin            Hays                        junior
Eleazar Becerra        Garden City             senior
Cristian Verduzco     Dodge City              junior
Jason Rios                Liberal            sophomore
Jose Mijares             Great Bend             junior
Adrian Alcantara      Garden City             junior