By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
2017 Kansas Optometric Association Convention and Seminar
Placeholder Image

TOPEKA – More than 300 people attended the 2017 Kansas Optometric Association (KOA) Convention & Seminar, which took place April 27-29, in Overland Park.
The 2017-18 KOA Board of Directors was installed. The new officers include: Dr. Clifford L. Holt, Shawnee, President; Dr. Julie A. Toon, Wichita, President-Elect; Dr. Eric C. McPeak, Hiawatha, Secretary-Treasurer; Dr. Jeffrey S. Janasek, Wichita, Director; Dr. Jeremy M. Durham, Director; Dr. Phil S. Walters, McPherson, Director; Dr. Jennifer L. Carr, Wichita, Zone President; Dr. Rebecca A. Dobbins, Coffeyville, Zone President; Dr. Sam R. Funk, Colby, Zone President; Dr. Michael J. Atteberry, Zone President; Dr. Brandon L. Smith, Salina, Zone President; Dr. Jon B. Stoppel, Gardner, Zone President; Dr. Seth A. Thibualt, Pratt, Zone President and Dr. Wayne R. Hemphill, Olathe, Past President.
Dr. Jason B. Rogers was named 2017 Optometrist of the Year for his outstanding service to the public and the profession.
The William A. Carriger Sr. Legislative Service Award was presented to Dr. Hemphill for his work in the grassroots political process.
Dr. Matthew C. Gerstberger, Garden City, was the recipient of the 2017 Outstanding Young Optometrist of the Year Award for his numerous contributions to the profession.
Also recognized were the 2016-2017 Leadership KOA class, which included Drs. Drew Heide, Wichita; Dustin Martin, Wichita; Nicole Miller, Great Bend; Katie Painter, Pittsburg; Nick Richmond, Wichita; and Christopher Smith, El Dorado.
The 2017-2018 Leadership KOA class was announced at the meeting. The members include Drs. Brian Coble, Kansas City; Sam Funk, Colby; Kyle Gwinner, Ellsworth; Nathan Kluttz, Ottawa; Kyler Knobbe, Wamego; Lisa Sandell, Wichita; and Matt Siemer, Kansas City.
Optometrists were able to attend 13 hours of continuing education on the latest developments in eye health and vision care for re-licensure. Among those attending were Drs. Douglas Ayre, Russell McCaulley, and Chad Premer of Great Bend.