By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Eight area doctors attend KOA
gbtribune news

More than 250 people attended the 2018 Kansas Optometric Association (KOA) Convention & Seminar, which took place April 26-28 in Wichita.
Among those attending were Drs. Douglas Ayre, Mark Judd, Reed McAtee, Russell McCaulley, Nicole Miller, Chad Premer and Sarah Stueder of Great Bend; and Kyle Gwinner, Ellsworth.
The William A. Carriger Sr. Legislative Service Award was presented to Dr. Russell L. McCaulley, Great Bend, for his work in the grassroots political process.
Also recognized were the 2017-18 Leadership KOA Class. The members include Drs. Brian Coble, Kansas City; Sam Funk, Colby; Kyle Gwinner, Ellsworth; Nathan Kluttz, Ottawa; Kyler Knobbe, Wamego; Lisa Sandell, Wichita; and Matt Siemer, Kansas City.
The 2018-19 KOA Board of Directors was installed. The new officers include: Dr. Julie A. Toon, Wichita, president; Dr. Jeffrey S. Janasek, Wichita, president-elect; Dr. Eric C. McPeak, Hiawatha, secretary-treasurer; Dr. Jeremy M. Durham, Wichita, director; Dr. Phil S. Walters, McPherson, and Dr. Matthew C. Gerstberger, Garden City, directors; and Dr. Clifford L. Holt, Shawnee, past president. Zone presidents are Dr. Jennifer L. Carr, Wichita; Dr. Rebecca A. Dobbins, Coffeyville; Dr. Sam R. Funk, Colby; Dr. Michael J. Atteberry, Lawrence; Dr. Brandon L. Smith, Salina; Dr. Jon B. Stoppel, Gardner; and Dr. Steven. P. Miller, Buhler.
Dr. Kendall L. Krug, Hays, was named 2018 Optometrist of the Year for his outstanding service to the public and the profession.
Dr. Jennifer L. Carr, Derby, was the recipient of the 2018 Outstanding Young Optometrist of the Year Award for her numerous contributions to the profession.
Dr. Stacy A. Clark, Salina, was awarded the 2018 Distinguished Service Award for her service to the betterment of Optometry in Kansas.
The Vision Service Award is the highest award given to an individual outside the profession of optometry for their contributions to the enhancement of the visual welfare of the public and the 2018 recipient is Debbie A. Collins, Meriden.
Elaine Schmidt, CPC, Topeka, was recognized for her years of service to Kansas Optometry and the Kansas Optometric Association.
Optometrists were able to attend 13 hours of continuing education on the latest developments in eye health and vision care for re-licensure.