By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
GBHS enters winning solar car
Great Bend High School’s entry in the 21st Annual Sunflower ElectroRally, shown here, won first place in the Solar Class.

SCOTT CITY — The 21st Annual Sunflower ElectroRally was held April 25 at the Spencer Flight and Education Center in Scott City. The race is part of the Kansas ElectroRally Championship Series. Electric cars, designed and constructed from scratch, race to complete the most laps in a one-hour endurance race.

Thirteen teams from Kansas and Nebraska came to compete in the Solar, Standard and Open classes. The program’s goal is to inspire an interest in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) by involving participants in the design, construction, testing and development of competitive electric vehicles.

To help further develop a diverse set of skills, all Kansas ElectroRally teams must also submit a written report, which includes construction plans, diagrams and photos of the building process, problems encountered, or help needed, a list of sponsors and a plan for thanking those sponsors. Reports are judged based on creativity, clarity and quality writing. 

In addition to sponsoring the Great Bend High School and Scott Community High School ElectroRally teams, Wheatland also provided volunteers to help set up and tear down the track, register teams, grill and serve hot dogs and hamburgers, take photos, run errands or do whatever is needed to make the race a success.

2019 ElectroRally Race Results

Standard Class Winners:

1st Place: Hays High School

2nd Place: Scott City High School

3rd Place: Clearwater High School

Solar Class Winners:

1st Place: Great Bend High School

2nd Place: Scott City High School

3rd Place: Wheatland High School