By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
New Commissioners elected to Kansas Commodity Commissions
gbtribune news logo anvil app

MANHATTAN — The Kansas Department of Agriculture has announced the result of the elections held for the state’s five grain commodity commissions — corn, grain sorghum, soybeans, sunflowers and wheat — in districts four, five and six in the central region of the state.

Kansas Corn Commission

District Four: Mike Brzon, Republic County 

District Five: Terrance Vinduska, Marion County

District Six: Kent Moore, Pratt County 

Kansas Grain Sorghum Commission

District Four: Stephen Bigge, Rooks County 

District Six: Max Tjaden, Sedgwick County

Kansas Soybean Commission

District Four: Ronald Ohlde, Washington County 

District Five: Keith Miller, Barton County

District Six: Dennis Gruenbacher, Sedgwick County 

Kansas Sunflower Commission

No candidates ran for commissioner in districts four, five, or six. The Kansas Sunflower Commission will appoint these positions.

Kansas Wheat Commission

District Four: Michael McClellan, Rooks County 

District Five: Doug Keesling, Rice County

District Six: Martin Kerschen, Sedgwick County

For more information on the new commissioners, please visit the KDA website at Commissioners serve three-year terms and the terms will commence on April 1, 2020.