By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Top teachers attend conference
Placeholder Image

Nearly 300 of Kansas best educators gathered in Topeka in February for the 2014 KEEN (Kansas Exemplary Educators Network) Conference. This by-invitation only conference was hosted by the Kansas State Department of Education. It is for active KEEN members, their principals and superintendents, and recognized educators. They met to discuss current education issues and classroom practices. The two days were spent celebrating the achievements of Kansas public schools and collaborating on ways to better serve Kansas students.
Attending from Barton County were Marla Davidson, USD #428 2013-2014 Teacher of the Year; Laurie Harwood USD #428 2012-2013 Elementary Teacher of the Year; Kim Heath, USD #428 2012-2013 Secondary Teacher of the Year; Linda Gotsche; Susan Young; Christina Lamoureax USD #431 2013-2014 Teacher of the Year; and Eli Sturn, 2014 KU Department of Education Teacher of Promise.