By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Conservation efforts recognized
new deh dirt dinner speaker pic
Barton County Soil Conservation District speech winner Logan Evers, a Great Bend High School senior, reads his oration during the districts annual meeting Saturday night at Barton Community College. - photo by DALE HOGG Great Bend Tribune

 For yet another year, the Barton County Soil Conservation District held its annual meeting Saturday night under a cloud of uncertainty.
“We as yet do not have a farm bill,” said Lynn Peterson with the Barton County Farm Service Agency office. “There are changes coming, but we don’t know what.”
Peterson offered one of several reports during the district’s 67th annual gathering at the Barton Community College student union. Other speakers from the National Resource Conservation Service and the district Board of Supervisors offered updates on the accomplishments and activities of the past year.
One of the highlights of was the recognition of the Banker Award winners. The 2013 winners were:  Richard and Janel Rugan, Soil Conservation; Brian and Melanie Mosier, Water Quality; Chuck and Marilyn Haynes, Water Conservation; and Larry Klepper, Windbreak.
Also honored were the winners of the district’s annual poster contest, the theme of which was “Dig Deeper: Secrets if the Soil.” These winners included: Lorena Favela, first place, Carlos Sota, second place, and Mariana Castillo, third place.
All are fourth graders at Riley Elementary School. Their teachers, Ronda Hixon and Lisa Starr, were applauded for their efforts.
In addition, Barton County speech winner Great Bend High School senior Logan Evers read his oration. The other contestant, Heather Schneider of Great Bend, was present as well.
In other business, Jim Essmiller of Great Bend and Melissa Woydziak of Hoisington were elected to the Board of Supervisors. Long-time board member Tom Humburg ended his service.
 The Barton County Soil Conservation District (part of the Natural Conservation Service) gives its Conservation Awards annually. The awards are often referred to as the Banker Awards since the prizes and annual district banquet are sponsored by the bankers in the county, with one being picked as a key banker each year. For the 2013 awards, it was Shane Dicks, Community Bank of the Midwest.