By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
New Slate of USD 428 Appointees and Designees
Placeholder Image

Joyce Carter’s nomination for USD 428 Board of Education President was approved and she was unanimously voted to the position.  Dwight Young was thanked for his service to the board for the past year, and Carter accepted nominations for Vice-President.  The board approved Kevin Mauler for that position.
Business officer Khris Thexton, replacing Dan Brungardt as the USD 428 Director of Business and Operations, was appointed as the Clerk of the Board of Education during the appointments and designations segment of the meeting.  He will also serve as the district’s records custodian and the Homeless Coordinator in compliance with BOE Policy JBCA.
Kevin Mauler was reappointed as the USD 428 Education Foundation Representative, and John Popp and Christie Gerdes will serve as representatives for Titles VI, VII, IX,  and Section 504.  Both play major roles in related matters.  
Dwight Young will continue to serve as the KASB Governmental Relations Network Representative, and Deb Hoffman will continue to serve as the district’s Freedom of Information Officer.
Dwight Young and Kevin Mauler will continue to serve as BOE members to the Interest Based Bargaining team for teacher negotiations.  They have served in these positions and expressed interest in serving again this year.  Mauler will also continue as the representative to both the GBHS Hall of Fame Committee and the Supplemental Salary Committee.
The district will continue to rely on Watkins Calcara, Chtd. for legal services.  There will be a $5 per hour rate increase from the prior year.  The administration gave their recommendation,  feeling the firm has been an excellent resource during the past year.
Other appointments included: Patty Vratil, assistant clerk; Margaret Evers, treasurer and Shannon King, assistant treasurer.  All learning center principals and assistant principals were designated truancy officers.  Superintendent Tom Vernon will continue to serve as the hearing officer for Free and Reduced meals, and Food Service Director Karl Sprague will continue to serve as the Food Service Representative.  Margaret Evers will continue to serve as teh KPERS Representative, and the position of Federal and State Grant Representatives will be shared by Randy Wetzel, Kris Thexton and Christie Gerdes.