By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
One week left to vote for Kansas people
new deh mary-ann-bickerdykeweb
Mother Bickerdyke

INMAN – Voting for the 8 Wonders of Kansas People will end midnight, Friday, Oct. 22. The results will be announced on Thursday, Oct. 28.

The public can vote online at or by calling 620-585-2374 for a paper ballot. Ballots postmarked on Friday, Oct. 22, will be counted. Sor far, 8,500 people have already voted.

Nominees of local interest in include micro chip inventor Jack Kilby, Great Bend, and Civil War nurse and veteran’s advocate Mary Ann "Mother" Bickerdyke, who lived in Bunker Hill, Great Bend, Ellsworth and Russell.

Other finalists for the People contest are: Amazon Army, Crawford County; Amelia Earhart, Atchison; Arthur Capper, Garnett, Topeka; Bernhard Warkentin, Newton, Halstead; Buffalo Soldiers, Fort Leavenworth; Buster Keaton, Piqua; Carry A. Nation, Medicine Lodge, Kiowa; Clyde V. Cessna, Rago, Kingman; Cyrus K. Holliday, Topeka; Emil J. Kapaun, Pilsen; Frederick Funston, Iola; George Washington Carver, Minneapolis, Beeler; Haskell Indian Nations University, Lawrence; James Naismith, Lawrence; John Brown, Osawatomie; Joseph McCoy, Abilene, Wichita; Martin & Osa Johnson, Chanute; Olive Ann Beech, Wichita, Waverly; Walter Chrysler, Ellis, Wamego; Walter Johnson, Humboldt, Coffeyville; William Allen White, Emporia; William Inge, Independence.

Dwight Eisenhower is not on the list because he was already voted to be an overall 8 Wonder of Kansas. Several other famous Kansans were already selected in previous contests, making them ineligible for the People contest.

This is the ninth and final contest of a three-year program to educate the public about what there is to see and do in Kansas and to inspire travel in the state. In addition to the overall 8 Wonders of Kansas, the other contests featured architecture, art, commerce, cuisine, customs, geography, and history. Contest results are at

The contest series is a project of the Inman-based Kansas Sampler Foundation.