By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Preliminary damage assessments under way in storm-striken counties
Placeholder Image

Preliminary Damage Assessments began March 11 in a number of Kansas counties affected by the severe winter storms that struck the state in February. The assessments will gather data to determine if any of the counties will be eligible to apply for federal Public Assistance money to recoup disaster-related expenses.
“The widespread effects and prolonged duration of the winter storms resulted in additional costs for snow removal and debris clean-up in addition to restoration of electrical power to thousands of Kansans,” said Angee Morgan, Kansas Division of Emergency Management deputy director. “We believe those added costs will make many counties eligible to receive federal assistance.”
The Kansas Division of Emergency Management sent a letter to the Federal Emergency Management Agency March 1 requesting the assessments. Counties named in the letter were Barber, Barton, Butler, Dickinson, Douglas, Ellis, Ellsworth, Franklin, Harper, Harvey, Hodgeman, Jewell, Johnson, Kingman, Leavenworth, Lincoln, Marion, McPherson, Ness, Osage, Osborne, Pawnee, Phillips, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Rooks, Rush, Russell, Saline, Sedgwick, Shawnee, Smith, Stafford, Sumner, Trego and Wyandotte. An amendment was sent later requesting that Clay, Lyon, Miami and Wichita counties be added to the list.
The assessments are being conducted by joint FEMA/KDEM inspection teams.