By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Gonzalez 1st team All North; Armstrong 2nd team
spt cp Ezra Armstrong 002

The awards keep coming in for the Barton men’s soccer team. Two more Cougars picked up post season awards this week, earning All North Region as awarded by the United Soccer Coaches.
Victor Gonzalez was a first team pick and Ezra Armstrong a second team selection for the Cougars. Both are freshmen defenders and should among a strong core returning for Barton next season.
Gonzalez, a freshman from Spain, was among four first team picks on at defender. Armstrong, a freshman from Overland Park, was just one of two defenders named to the second team.
There are four regions in the NJCAA as awarded by the USC.
The duo helped Barton post seven shutouts and allow just one goal seven more times. In addition to their defensive prowess, the duo was also effective on the offensive end.
Gonzalez netted three goals off free kicks and corner kicks while Armstrong had four assists on free kick opportunities.
Also earning a first team pick from the Jayhawk Conference was Leonardo Da Silva at defender from Kansas City Kansas, Preston Mbood of Johnson County at defender, and Eduardo Carvalho at midfield from Neosho County.
On the second team was Giovanni Calderon of KCK at forward and Josh Garcia of Neosho at forward. Indian Hills had three first team picks and two more second team selections.

NCSA All North Region
First Team
K-Ross Dalton, Indian Hills, So
D-Leonardo Da Silva, KCK, So
D-Gustavo Fernandes, Iowa Western, So
D-Victor Gonzalez, Barton, Fr
D-Preston Mboob, Johnson, So
M-Eduardo Carvalho, Neosho, Fr
M-Librado Olivares, Dupage, Fr
F-Bukola Abdulwahad-Omotose, Oakton, Fr
F-Akean Shackleford, Indian Hills, So
F-Reshon Phillip, Indian Hills, Fr
F-Kinoshita Ryosuke, Marshalltown, So

Second Team
K-Jan Hoffelner, Iowa Western, Fr
D-Ezra Armstrong, Barton, Fr
D-Adam Pritchard, Iowa Lakes, So
M-Rodrigo Paredes, Indian Hills, Fr
M-Craig Brand, Indian Hills, So
M-Eneko Lasheras, Marshalltown,So
M-Alberto Diaz, Iowa Western, Fr
M-Belgoni Basunda, Dupate, Fr
M-Giovanni Calderon, KCK, So
F-Joao Burti, Iowa Western, So
F-Josh Garcia, Neosho, So