By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Sanz and Longwe capture No. 1 doubles consolation draw
BCC courgar-head


Special to the Tribune

TYLER, Texas – Daniela Sanz and Idah Longwe have had a pretty good season as the No. 1 doubles team for the Barton women. The duo put an exclamation point on their season Wednesday afternoon at the NJCAA Championships in Texas.

Sanz and Longwe worked their way through the consolation bracket to the championship and won the consolation finals. The duo had to win a pair of matches on Wednesday to do so.

Julianna Seabra nearly matched their efforts at No. 2 singles, but came up short and was runner-up in the consolation draw. Seabra and Karli Beck lost their consolation semifinal contest at No. 2 doubles to end their season as well.

Sanz and Longwe took the court early Wednesday morning and battled past Mariana Alvarez and Rachel Rhett of Hinds College. The duo won 8-5 in consolation semifinal contest, sending the two to the finals.

In the finals in the afternoon, Sanz and Longwe had an easier time as they knocked off Madison Currie and Raquel Rodriquez of Jones County, 8-3, to capture the consolation bracket.

Seabra advanced to the finals of the No. 2 singles consolation bracket with a late win Tuesday over Shannon McCarthy of DuPage. Seabra defeated McCarthy 8-4 to earn a date in the finals Wednesday.

There she met the draw’s No. 5 seed in Anita Detlava of South Plains College. Detlava, an upset loser in the Round of 16 in the main draw, capped off a dominating run through the consolation bracket with an 8-0 blanking of Seabra.

Seabra and Beck lost their only match on Wednesday, falling in the consolation semifinals at No. 2 doubles to Catherine Murphy and Casey O’Toole of State College of Florida by an 8-2 count.

The tournament will wrap up Thursday with the championship matches in the main draw.

Barton will finish in the Top 20 and likely we be 15th or 16th when it is over. 

Barton results/schedules

No. 1 singles – Daniel Sanz

1st round – Sanz def. Paige Gibson, Meridian, 6-0, 6-0

Round of 16 – (2) Macarena Oliveras, ASA, def. Sanz, 6-0, 6-0


No. 2 singles – Julianna Seabra

1st round – Catina Gamo, ABCA, def. Searbra, 6-2, 6-0

Consolation 2nd round – Seabra received a bye

Consolation Quarterfinals – Seabra def. Nakita Hill, Eastern Arizona, 8-7 (5)

Consolation Semifinals – Seabra def. Shannon McCarthy, DuPage, 8-4

Consolation Finals – (5) Anita Detlava, SPC, def. Seabra, 8-0


No. 3 singles – Idah Longwe

1st round – Longwe def Agustina Grimolizzi, NCTC, 6-3, 7-5

Round of 16 – (3) Kakoro Chishaki, SPC, def Longwe, 6-4, 6-2


No. 4 singles – Karli Beck

1st round – Beck def. Mary Neely Meyers, Hinds, 7-6(5), 6-4

Round of 16 – (6) Mariya Yatsenko, SPC, def. Beck, 6-1, 6-0


No. 5 singles – Baylee Reade

1st round – Amanda Hawkins, New Mexico Military, def. Reade, 6-4, 6-3

Consolation second round – Reade received a bye

Consolation Quarterfinals –Miranda Jackson, Lewis & Clark, def. Reade, 8-6


No. 6 singles – McKenna Hammeke

1st round – Sierra Chapman, Collin County, def. Hammeke, 6-1, 6-1

Consolation second round – Taylor Miller, Meridan, def. Hammeke, 8-0



No. 1 doubles – Daniela Sanz and Idah Longwe

1st round – Sanz/Longwe received a bye

Round of 16 – Lorraine Banimataku/Thea Minor, New Mexico Military def. Sanz/Longwe, 6-2, 7-5

Consolation second round – Sanz/Longwe def. Nikita Hill/Amelie Saint-Dizier, Eastern Arizona, 8-2

Consolation Quarterfinals - Sanz/Longwe def. Alexandria Gilbert/Taryn Swanepoel, Collin County, 9-7

Consolation Semifinals – Sanz/Longwe def. Mariana Alvarez/Rachel Rhett, Hinds, 8-5

Consolation Finals – Sanz/Longwe def. Madison Currie/Raquel Rodriguez, Jones County, 8-3


No. 2 doubles – Julianna Seabra and Karli Beck

1st round – Eileen Gallegos/Lorena Marruffo, Laredo, def. Seabra/Beck, 6-1, 6-2

Consolation second round – Seabra/Beck received a bye

Consolation Quarterfinals – Seabra/Beck def. Julie Sibbesen/Jamie Tubao, Harford, 8-3

Consolation Semifinals –Catherine Murphy/Casey O’Toole, SCF, def. Seabra/Beck, 8-2


No. 3 doubles – Baylee Reade/McKenna Hammeke

1st round – Hammeke/Reade def. Miranda Jackson/Molly Stumpf, Lewis & Clark, 3-6, 6-4, 7-6(6)

Round of 16 – (4) Madison Hoelting/Tadiwanashe Mrewa, Seward, def. Hammeke/Reade, 6-1, 6-1