By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Stapleton named 1st team All Jayhawk West
Regan, Miller honored as well

It has been a week of awards for Jaylin Stapleton as the sophomores basketball career at Barton came to an end.

After picking up the award for the NJCAA National Player of the Week to start the week, Stapleton was selected to the All Jayhawk West first team to end the week.

Stapleton was one of three Cougars honored. Taylor Regan was a second team pick and Mallory Miller was an honorable mention selection.

West champion Seward swept the high awards. Silvio Veloso was named the Player of the Year and the Defensive Player of the Year. Aquila Mucubaquire was named the Freshman of the Year and first year Saint coach Austin Mefford was the Coach of the Year.

Stapleton will leave Barton will several school records in free throw shooting, including the most made in a game, season and career. This past season, the Meade sophomore led Barton at 15.2 points per contest, including a 40-point effort in her final home game. That is the second most in a single game in Barton history.

Stapleton started all 33 game for Barton, handing out a team-high 4.8 assists and 1.7 steals. She shot 82.7 percent from the free throw line. In the Region VI quarterfinals, she recorded a triple-double.

Taylor Regan also has her name in the Barton record books after a 25-rebound outing this season for a school record. The Otis-Bison sophomore averaged 11.6 rebounds a game in addition to her 12 points an outing. She had 14 double doubles this season in 33 game.

Miller will also leave Barton with her name in the record for her 3-point shooting abilities. Miller made 10 in a game her freshman season and leaves Barton with 159 in her career. This past season, Miller averaged 9.7 points per game, hitting 43.3 percent of her 3’s. 

Butler won the Region VI Championship Wednesday night at Hartman Arena, defeating Seward by a 62-54 score. The Saints, ranked No. 2 in the nation and 30-3, should get an at-large berth to the NJCAA National Tournament as could 30-3 and No. 8 Hutchinson.

All Jayhawk West

Player of the Year – Silvio Veloso, Seward

Def Player of the Year – Silvio Veloso, Seward

Freshman of the Year – Aquila Mucubaquire, Seward

Coach of the Year – Austin Mefford, Seward

1st team

Jaylin Stapleton 5-5 So Barton

Jada Mickens 6-0 So Hutch

Dejanae Roebuck 6-0 So Hutch

Carla Covane 6-3 So Seward

Silvia Veloso 5-7 So Seward

2nd team

Taylor Regan 5-10 So Barton

Talia Roberts 5-5 So Garden

Makayla Vannett 5-6 So Hutch

N’Dea Flye 5-8 So NW Tech

Courtney Cleveland 6-1 So Pratt

Lexi Hernandez 5-6 So Seward

Honorable Mention

BARTON – Mallory Miller, So. DODGE – Makaela Ewing, So; Addison Rowley, So. GARDEN – Alysa Boyce, FR; CazMonique Johnson, So. HUTCH – Abby Ogle, Fr. PRATT – Rylee Alexander, Fr; Janell Douvier, Fr. SEWARD – Aguila Mucubaquire, Fr; Karolina Szydlowska, Fr.

Taylor Regan mug.jpg
Taylor Regan
Mallory Miller mug.jpg
Mallory Miller
Jaylin Stapleton mug.jpg