By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Weather delays KCAC baseball
kcac baseball logo.jpg

KCAC baseball starts Thursday

Rainy weather has thrown the KCAC Baseball Championship a curveball.

The opening round is delayed until Thursday at the Great Bend Sports Complex.

No. 12 Oklahoma Wesleyan (37-9, 28-5) is the defending KCAC Tournament champion after beating York, Neb. 7-5 and 14-3 in last year’s finals.

Oklahoma Wesleyan vs. Kansas Wesleyan

Oklahoma Wesleyan (37-9) earned the regular season championship and the No. 1 seed by going 28-5 in conference play.  The Eagles are on a 10-game winning streak, with their last loss coming to the Coyotes April 7. 

Kansas Wesleyan enters as the No. 6 seed after recording a 16-17 record in KCAC play, as part of a 24-22 overall record. The Coyotes are looking for a win after ending the season on a three-game losing streak, falling in their season-ending series against Sterling College. In head-to-head play this season, the Coyotes hold a 2-1 advantage.

Tabor vs. Sterling

The Bluejays (36-16) finished 23-10 in the conference. Tabor ended the season on a five-game winning streak. Their last loss came against Friends University on April 19. 

The Sterling College Warriors (27-19) recorded a 20-13 league record. Sterling ended rthe regular season on a five-game winning streak. Sterling’s last loss was against York College April 19. Tabor holds a 2-1 advantage during the regular season.

York, Neb. vs. McPherson

York (26-19) finished 22-11 in the KCAC. The Panthers went 5-5 in their last 10 games. McPherson (35-15)  also finished 22-11 in the conference. York won the season-ending series 2-1 over McPherson College.




Game 1—11 a.m.—Oklahoma Wesleyan (37-9) vs. Kansas Wesleyan (24-22)

Game 2—3 p.m.—Tabor (36-16) vs. Sterling (27-19)

Game 3—7 p.m.—York, Neb. (26-19) vs. McPherson (35-15)


Game 4—11 a.m.—Losers games 1, 2

Game 5—3 p.m.—Winner game 1 vs. loser game 3 

Game 6—7 p.m.—Winners games 2, 3


Game 7—11 a.m.—Winners games 5, 6

Game 8—3 p.m.—Winner game 4 vs. loser game 6

Game 9—7 p.m.—Winner game 8 vs. loser game 7


Game 10—1 p.m.—Winners games 7, 9

Game 11—4 p.m.—Winner game 10 vs. loser game 10 (if needed)