By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Kansas natives Lobner, Wilson win at S.R.C.A. Drag Strip
Placeholder Image

In the final results from NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series Thunder on the Plains and S.R.C.A. Dragstrip, Kansas natives Steven Wilson of Emporia and JR Lobner of Gardner took home the wins in Super Street and Top Sportsman respectively.
Wilson, worked his way through the field and ran 11.052 seconds at 129.02 mph in his final round victory over Jordan Stallbaumer of Wakarusa, who clocked in at 11.122 seconds, 129.32 mph. This was a close race, but Wilson took the win by 0.006 seconds, approximately 14 inches.
Lodner faced off against Craig Amerine, a Great Bend native, and posted a winning run of 7.368 seconds, 176.63 mph in his ’05 S-10. Amerine drove to a 7.713 second, 176.07 mph lap for his runner-up finish.
Lodner, with a nearly perfect reaction time of 0.002, helped secure his Top Sportsman win.
Shaun Vincent, who was also the No. 1 qualifier, met up with Todd Patterson in the final for Comp Eliminator. Vincent posted a winning run of 8.552 seconds, 154.69 mph in his ’02 S-10. Patterson, with a pass of 8.102 seconds, 166.60 mph, finished as runner up.
Other racers visiting the winner’s circle this weekend were David Bogner, Kearney, Nebraska, in Super Stock; Fred Snavely, Joplin, Missouri, in Super Comp; Bill Dennis, Roswell, New Mexico in Super Gas; Jason Medlin, Belton, Missouri, in Top Dragster, and Brett Speer, Little Falls, Minnesota, in Stock Eliminator.  Jason Clampitt, Lino Lakes, Minnesota, was the winner in Sportsman Motorcycle presented by Harley-Davidson.
In conjunction with this weekend’s event at S.R.C.A. Dragstrip was the Super Comp, Super Gas and Super Street Karl’s Performance Super Shootout presented by Karl Chevrolet.
Todd McCann of Centennial, Colorado, with a pass of 9.046 seconds, 151.44 mph, took the win over Chris Burrell, a Claude, Texas, native, in Super Comp.
Tom Carlson, Two Harbors, Minnesota, made a winning pass of 10.063 seconds, 143.83 mph, took the win over James Kunkle, Wichita, in Super Gas.
In the Super Street category, Dan Eichem of Wamego with a pass of 11.044, 137.39 mph defeated Steven Wilson, Emporia.
West Central Division racers head to Brainerd International Raceway for the next NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series event, May 31–June 1.


S.R.C.A. Drag Strip

COMP ELIMINATOR — Shaun Vincent, Omaha, Neb., ‘02 S-10, C/TA, 8.552, 154.69 def. Todd Patterson, Augusta, Kan., ‘12 Cobalt, A/SMA, 8.102, 166.60.
SUPER STOCK — David Bogner, Kearney, Neb., ‘92 Dodge, SS/CS, 9.673, 138.60  def. Tim Nicholson, Concordia, Kan., ‘67 Chevy II, GT/I, 10.316, 125.18.
STOCK ELIMINATOR — Brett Speer, Little Falls, Minn., ‘70 Nova, B/SA, 10.745, 118.04  def. Austin Williams, Burleson, Texas, ‘72 Duster, F/SA, 11.377, 111.08.
SUPER COMP — Fred Snavely, Joplin, Mo., ‘05 Jim Ford, 9.071, 167.76 def. Rodney Frazier, Sand Spgs, Okla., ‘07 Mullis, 9.060, 167.97.
SUPER GAS — Bill Dennis, Roswell, N.M., ‘08 Davis, 10.065, 160.56  def. Tim Nicholson, Concordia, Kan., ‘67 Camaro, 10.082, 100.98.
SUPER STREET — Steven Wilson, Emporia, Kan., ‘67 Chevy II, 11.052, 129.02  def. Jordan Stallbaumer, Wakarusa, Kan., ‘75 Camaro, 11.122, 129.32.
TOP SPORTSMAN — JR Lobner, Gardner, Kan., ‘05 S-10, 7.368, 176.63 def. Craig Amerine, Great Bend, Kan., ‘10 Camaro, 7.713, 176.07.
TOP DRAGSTER — Jason Medlin, Belton, Mo., ‘05 Mullis, 7.376, 167.72 def. Larry Piper, Wamego, Kan., ‘07 Racecraft, 6.697, No Speed.
SPORTSMAN MOTORCYCLE PRESENTED BY HARLEY DAVIDSON — Jason Clampitt, Lino Lakes, Minn., ‘97 Buell, 10.354, 117.30  def. Patrick Roetto, Wichita, Kan., ‘09 Hayabusa, 9.317, 143.25.
SUPER COMP SHOOTOUT PRESENTED BY KARL CHEVROLET — Todd McCann, Centennial, Colo., ‘06 Undercover, 9.046, 151.44 def. Chris Burrell, Claude, Texas, ‘11 TNT, 9.006, 158.84.
SUPER GAS SHOOTOUT PRESENTED BY KARL CHEVROLET — Tom Carlson, Two Harbors, Minn., ‘03 Corvette, 10.063, 143.83 def. James Kunkel, Wichita, Kan., ‘68 Camaro, 10.040, 153.04.
SUPER STREET SHOOTOUT PRESENTED BY KARL CHEVROLET — Dan Eichem, Wamego, Kan., ‘67 Cheverolet, 11.044, 137.39 def. Steven Wilson, Emporia, Kan., ‘67 Chevy II, foul.