By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Cardinal, Indian matmen start postseason
KSHSAA wrestling postseason
3A W - Alboyd faces off with his Kingman opponent.jpeg
Larned’s Alboyd faces off with his opponent Colby Schreiner from Kingman


HOISINGTON – The No. 3 state-ranked Hoisington Cardinal wrestlers are hitting their stride for Saturday’s 3A Cimarron district tournament at the perfect time.

The top four finishers in each weight class advance to 3-1A regionals Feb. 12 at WaKeeney with Phillipsburg qualifiers. The Phillipsburg district features No. 1 Hoxie, No. 2 Hill City, No. 7 Oberlin and No. 8 Norton.

The Cardinals swept team titles at the Larned Round-Robin and Hoisington Cardinal Classic last weekend.

The Cardinals crowned champions in No. 1 ranked Josiah Ball (16-2, 113), Deryk Yott (14-7, 132), Quentin Boxberger (16-7, 145), No. 2 ranked Cole Steinert (20-4, 170) and No. 1 ranked Joshua Ball (24-0, (182).

Three-time state qualifier Steinert joins two-time qualifiers Boxberger, Hunter Morris and Joshua Ball.

Joshua Ball placed third at 3A state (170) with a pin over Oberlin’s Ganon Euhlin after placing fifth. Steinert placed fourth at state and Eastin Redetzke finished sixth last year.

The Cardinals scored 68 points to finish seventh at 3A state wrestling last year.

“I was surprised with our dominance with our boys squad,” said Hoisington coach Dan Schmidt. “This year’s team appears able to better their seventh-place finish from last year.”

HOISINGTON ENTRIES—106—Mason Alderdice, 4-8; 113—No. 1 Josiah Ball, 16-2; 120—Eastin Redetzke, 16-10; 132—Deryk Yott, 14-7; 138—Evan Foltz, 19-6; 145—Quentin Boxberger, 16-7; 152—Ian Smith, 14-8; 160—Hunter Morris, 18-9; 170—No. 2 Cole Steinert, 20-4; 182—No. 1 Joshua Ball, 24-0; 220—Logan Philbern, 14-5; 285—Noah Deines, 7-9

STAFFORD ENTRIES—132—Gatlin Ruddick, 1-14; 138—Abe Llanas, 2-15; 160—Dylan Metzger, 4-19; 195—Caden McCandless, 10-7; 285—Axel Ortiz, 1-10

4A LARNED – Larned will compete at Scott City.

Returning state champion No. 5 state-ranked Samajay Alboyd (29-5, 160) headlines four returning state qualifiers. Alboyd captured the 3-1A state championship (145) with a 6-3 victory over Kingman’s Kolby Schreiner.

Others returning are third-place state finisher Dillen Hook (28-4, 120); and state qualifiers Gatlin Hoch (25-5, 132) and Joshua Kramer (6-8, 170). Hook defeated Smith Center’s Bentley Montgomery 5-1 for third place.

The Indians will face a stiffer challenge against 4A district competition.

Jameson Smith (113), Jarett Seeman (152) and Joshua Kramer (170) will return for districts after missing time. Wrestlers will compete up to four matches.

“4A is tough and our wrestlers are going to see that,” said Larned coach Matt Sleder. “We’re in a tough district, and it will get harder. We have had a lot of matches the last two weeks. We should be ready. We take a match at a time, look at film, and get them ready to compete. Everyone has a shot, but it’s going to hard.

LARNED ENTRIES—120—Dillen Hook, 28-4; 113—Jameson Smith; 126—Corbin Weers, 5-18; 132—Gatlin Hoch, 25-5; 145—Jacob Colglazier, 7-17; 152—Jarett Seeman; 160—Samajay Alboyd, 29-3; 170—Joshua Kramer, 6-8; 220—Carter Atteberry, 23-4


1—PHILLIPSBURG—Rawlins County, Hill City, Hoxie, Norton, Oakley, Oberlin, Phillipsburg, Plainville, St. Francis, Stockton, WaKeeney-Trego

2—CIMARRON—Cimarron, Ellis, Hays-TMP, Hoisington, Lakin, Fairfield, Wichita County, Russell, St. John, Stafford, Greeley County

3—BELOIT—Republic County, Beloit, Bennington, Ell Saline, Ellsworth, Lincoln, Mankato Rock Hills, Minneapolis, Osborne, Smith Center, Sylvan-Lucas

4—CHENEY—Chaparral, Canton-Galva, Cheney, Garden Plain, SE Saline, Halstead, Hillsboro, Kingman, Lyons, Sterling

5—DOUGLASS—Burden Central, Chase County, Douglass, Eureka, Herington, West Elk, Bluestem, Marion, Flinthills, Remington

6—MOUND CITY—Caney Valley, Cherokee SE, Cherryvale, Erie, Fredonia, Humboldt, Elk Valley, Jayhawk Linn, Uniontown, Wellsville

7—SILVER LAKE—Northern Heights, Atchison Maur Hill, Burlingame, Council Grove, Mission Valley, Osage City, Oskaloosa, Rossville, Silver Lake, St. Marys, Wabaunsee

8—MARYSVILLE—Pleasant Ridge, Atchison County, Doniphan West, Horton, Marysville, Onaga, Riley County, Sabetha, Nemaha Central, Troy, Riverside


1—SCOTT CITY—Colby, Goodland, Holcomb, Hugoton, Larned, Scott City, Ulysses

2—PRATT—Andale, Buhler, Clearwater, Hesston, Nickerson, Pratt, Wichita Trinity

3—ROSE HILL—Augusta, El Dorado, Mulvane, Rose Hill, Circle, Wellington, Winfield

4—WAMEGO—Abilene, Chapman, Clay Center, Concordia, Smoky Valley, McPherson, Rock Creek, Wamego

5—HOLTON—Atchison, Holton, Royal Valley, Jefferson West, Perry Lecompton, Tonganoxie, Topeka Hayden

6—CARBONDALE—Baldwin, Eudora,  KC Ward, Louisburg, Ottawa, Santa Fe Trail, SM Miege

7—FORT SCOTT—Burlington, Fort Scott, Anderson County, Iola, Prairie View, Osawatomie, Paola

8—INDEPENDENCE—Labette County, Chanute, Coffeyville, Columbus, Frontenac, Girard, Independence, Parsons


1—HAYS—Goddard, Goddard Eisenhower, Great Bend, Hays, Maize, Maize South, Salina Central, Salina South

2—ANDOVER—Andover, Andover Central, Arkansas City, Emporia, Newton, Valley Center, Wichita Carroll, Wichita Kapaun Mt. Carmel

3—LEAVENWORTH—Basehor-Linwood, Bonner Springs, DeSoto, KC Schlagle, KC Piper, Lansing, Leavenworth, Shawnee Heights, Topeka Seaman

4—SPRING HILL—KC Sumner, KC Turner, KC Washington, Lenexa St. James, Blue Valley Southwest, St. Thomas Aquinas, Pittsburg, Mill Valley, Spring Hill


1—DODGE CITY—Dodge City, Garden City, Goddard, Goddard Eisenhower, Great Bend, Hays High, Hutchinson, Liberal, Newton, Valley Center, Wichita Northwest, Wichita West

2—WICHITA—Andover, Andover Central, Derby, Campus, Junction City, Manhattan, Salina Central, Salina South, Wichita East, Wichita Heights, Wichita North, Wichita South, Wichita Southeast

3—EMPORIA--Basehor-Linwood, Bonner Springs, Emporia, KC Piper, KC Turner, KC Washington, Lansing, Lawrence Free State, Leavenworth, Mill Valley, SM Northwest, SM West, Topeka Seaman, Washburn Rural, Shawnee Heights

4—SPRING HILL—Gardner-Edgerton, KC Harmon, KC Sumner, KC Wyandotte, Olathe East, Olathe North, Olathe Northwest, Olathe South, Olathe West, Blue Valley, Blue Valley North, Blue Valley Southwest, Pittsburg, SM South, Spring Hil


1—HOISINGTON—Rawlins County, Colby, Ellis, Goodland, Hoisington, Hoxie, Norton, Oakley, Phillipsburg, Plainville, Russell, Smith Center, Stockton, WaKeeney Trego

2—CIMARRON—Cheney, Cimarron, Holcomb, Hugoton, Kingman, Lakin, Fairfield, Larned, Lyons, Nickerson, Norwich, Pratt, Stafford, Ulysses

3—ROSE Hill—Augusta, Burden Central, Clearwater, Douglass, El Dorado, Bluestem, Mulvane, Flinhills, Rose Hill, Circle, Wellington, Winfield

4—COUNCIL GROVE--Abilene, Northern Heights, Ell Saline, Buhler, Chase County, Council Grove, Hesston, Smoky Valley, Marion, McPherson, Remington

5—MARYSVILLE—Atchison, Chapman, Clay Center, Concordia, Atchison County, Doniphan West, Holton, Royal Valley, Marysville, Rossville, Sabetha, Silver Lake, Wamego

6—BURLINGAME—Baldwin, Burlingame, Mission Valley, Eudora, KC Ward, Jefferson West, Oskaloosa, Santa Fe Trail, SM Miege, Tonganoxie, Wellsville

7—OSAWATOMIE—Burlington, Eureka, Fort Scott, Anderson County, Humboldt, Iola, Prairie View, Louisburg, Osawatomie, Ottawa, Paola, Uniontown

8—INDEPENDENCE—Labette County, Caney Valley, Chanute, Cherryvale, Coffeyville, Columbus, Erie, Fredonia, Girard, West Elk, Independence, Parsons