By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Panther runners sweep Buhler titles
mayra ramirez.jpg
Great Bend's Mayra Ramirez (16:07.1.) cruises to her sixth consecutive cross country victory at the Lake Barton course north of Great Bend. - photo by JIM MISUNAS Great Bend Tribune

BUHLER – Mayra Ramirez earned medalist honors and Great Bend swept first place in the boys and girls divisions at Thursday’s Buhler Invitational cross country meet at Wheatland Park. The Panther girls (33) edged Buhler (44) for first place.

Ramirez (20:56.8) led four top 10 medalists for the Panthers featuring third-place Emilia Diaz (21:16.8), eighth-place Reagan Huslig (22:01.1) and ninth-place Emma Loomis (22:01.2). McKenna Esfeld placed 12th (22:41.1) to count as the Panthers’ fifth runner in 92-degree heat.

The Panthers earned a second title in the boys division behind four top 10 medalists – third-place Sage Cauley, 17:41.4; fourth-place Kaiden Esfeld, 17:42.4; fifth-place Collin Hammond, 17:46.9; ninth-place Alex Smith, 18:23.1; 10th-place Hayden Keller, Buhler, 18:23.1. Evan Hammond placed 11th (18:37.6) to help the Panthers score 32 points with Berean Academy placing runner-up (64).


Wheatland Park, 5K

GIRLS TEAM SCORES—1—Great Bend 33; 2—Buhler 44; 3—Goddard Eisenhower 64; 4—Berean Academy 93; 5—Valley Center 145; 6—Hutchinson Trinity 165; 7—Junction City 178.

TOP 10 MEDALISTS—1—Mayra Ramirez, GB, 20:56.8; 2—Brooke Wiebe, Berean, 21:14.6; 3—Emilia Diaz, GB, 21:16.8, 4—Daycee DeWindt, Buhler, 21:17.8; 5—Emma Willison, Buhler, 21:30.5; 6—Kennedy Nicholson, Eisenhower, 21:34.0; 7—Jadyn Pavlik, Eisenhower, 21:38.4; 8—Reagan Huslig, GB, 22:01.1; 9—Emma Loomis, GB, 22:01.2; 10—Leah Bentley, Buhler, 22:01.4

GREAT BEND—12--McKenna Esfeld, 22:41.1; 22—Hannah Loomis, 23:52.5.

Wheatland Park, 5K

BOYS TEAM SCORES—1—Great Bend 32; 2—Berean Academy 64; 3—Eisenhower 75; 4—Buhler 78; 5—Winfield 93; 6—Valley Center 164; 7—Junction City 189; 8—Hutchinson Trinity 191; 9—McPherson 233.

TOP 10 MEDALISTS—1—Tanner Lindahl, Buhler, 17:13.8; 2—Austin Fullerton, Eisenhower, 17:27.8; 3—Sage Cauley, GB, 17:41.4; 4—Kaiden Esfeld, GB, 17:42.4; 5—Collin Hammond, GB, 17:46.9; 6—Craig LaBrue, Winfield, 17:55.2; 7—Drew Janzen, Berean, 18:13.0; 8—Andrew Harder, Berean, 18:18.4; 9—Alex Smith, GB, 18:23.1; 10—Hayden Keller, Buhler, 18:23.1.

GREAT BEND—11—Evan Hammond, 18:37.6; 20—Matthew Huslig, 19:10.6.