By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Panther Fritz No. 1, wrestlers ranked fourth in 5A
Panther Gage Fritz (145) works on his technique in a pin in 1:21 over Hays High's Kreighton Meyers. - photo by JIM MISUNAS Great Bend Tribune

Great Bend’s Gage Fritz (38-1, 145) is ranked first and the Panthers are fourth overall in the 5A state wrestling rankings provided by the Kansas Wrestling Coaches Association.

Other state-ranked wrestlers for the Panthers are No. 2 George Weber (25-4, 138); No. 4 Alex Randolph (33-4, 160); No. 5 Kaden Spragis (30-10, 106); No. 5 Wyatt Weber (27-12, 120);  No. 5 Drew Liles (31-3, 126).

The Panthers can clinch the Western Athletic Conference dual championship with a victory over Hays High Thursday.

5A TEAM RANKINGS—1—Goddard; 2—Maize High; 3—BV Southwest; 4—Great Bend; 5—Arkansas City; 6—St. Thomas Aquinas; 7—Newton; 8—McPherson; 9—Lansing; 10—Wichita Kapaun-Mt. Carmel


106—1—Bubba Wright, Kapaun Mt. Carmel; 2—Nick Treaster, Newton; 3—Ian Demoss, Maize South; 4—Nakaylen Shabazz, Maize; 5—Kaden Spragis, Great Bend (30-10); 6—Jayden Miller, Goddard

113—1—Hayden Mills, BVSW; 2—A.B. Stokes, Newton; 3—Sam Dickey, Ark City; 4—Brock Ferguson, Shawnee Heights; 5—Bryce Ross, Basehor-Linwood; 6—Lukas Hainline, Emporia 

120—1—Grant Treaster, Newton; 2—Jason Henschel, Goddard; 3—Keton Patterson, Maize; 4—Kael Pappan, Ark City; 5—Wyatt Weber, Great Bend (27-12); 6—LaShawn Blick, Andover High

126—1—Camden Maestas, Lansing; 2—Jonah Andrews, KC Schlagle; 3—Bret Umentum, BVSW; 4—Alyeus Craig, Valley Center; 5—Drew Liles, Great Bend (31-3); 6—Slade Adam, Salina Central

132—1—Jerrdon Fisher, Goddard; 2—Xerarch Tungjaroenkul, Emporia; 3—Hartwell Taylor, Lansing; 4—Cayden Hughbanks, Maize; 5—Gabe Maki, Andover High; 6—Carsyn Schooler, Great Bend (26-3)

138—1—Johnny Akin, STA; 2—George Weber, Great Bend (25-4); 3—Matt Gottschalk, Bishop Carroll; 4—Isaiah Holmes, Goddard; 5—Ethan Cronk, BVSW; 6—Quentin Kirk, Valley Center

145—1—Gage Fritz, Great Bend (38-1); 2—Brandon Madden, BVSW; 3—Rhett Edmonson, McPherson; 4—Trig Tennent, Ark City; 5—Caden Walker, Shawnee Heights; 6—Dylan Elmore, Aquinas

152—1—Devin Gomez, Maize High; 2—Jace Fisher, Goddard; 3—Jacob McLain, Lansing; 4—Dan McMullen, BVSW; 5—Wyatt Dickie, Spring Hill; 6—Kaden Jacobson, Basehor-Linwood

160—1—Jared Simma, STA; 2—Cayleb Atkins, Goddard; 3—Carson Wheeler, Maize; 4—Alex Randolph, Great Bend (33-4); 5—Mason Levin, Goddard Eisenhower; 6—Hunter Trail, Wichita Carroll

170—1—Duwayne Villalpando, Maize; 2—Seth Nitzel , BVSW; 3—Nolan Craine, Goddard; 3—Jonah Clarke, McPherson;  4—Nathan Fury, Kapaun-Mt. Carmel; 65—Nich Bahm, Ark City; 6—Matt Morrell, Wichita Carroll

182—1—Trevor Dopps, Goddard; 2—Lynauz Cox, Maize South; 3—Jackson McCall, BVSW; 4—Gavin Lough, Arkansas City; 5—Kourtney Craig, McPherson; 6—Charlie Frisch, Kapaun-Mt. Carmel

195—1—Kaden Glass, Goddard; 2—Landon Frantz, McPherson; 3—Deston Miller, Ark City; 4—Tom Carroll, STA; 5—Josh Willcutt, Basehor-Linwood;  6—Isaac Steen, Lenexa St. James

220—1—Kyle Haas, Maize High; 2—Cade Lautt, St. James; 3—Mack Hubbel, BVSW; 4—Mason Thrash, McPherson; 5—Gavin Nutting, Hays High; 6—Mason Ross, Wichita Northwest

285—1—Devon Dawon, Goddard; 2—Tony Caldwell, Valley Center; 3—Maximus Shannon, Ark City; 4—Dan Carroll, STA; 5—Harry Spencer, St. James; 5—Joseph Castle, KC Turner