LSH escapee caught in Utah
LARNED — Escaped sex offender John Freeman Colt, who walked out of the Sexual Predator Treatment Program of Larned State Hospital on June 30, has been captured in Utah.
Full Story
By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Hoisington wrestlers win Kuhn Classic
Placeholder Image

HAYS — Three-time state champion Brandon Ball of Hoisington High led the Cardinals to first place in the Bob Kuhn Prairie Classic with a first-place finish. Brandon Ball (25-0) placed first at 138 pounds with a 13-0 victory over Dalton Henbsley of Ellis High School.
Finishing second were 145-pound Jonathan Ball (24-1), 152-pound Christopher Ball (23-4), 195-pound Chance Boor (20-6) and 285-pound Landen Urban (20-4).
Hoisington scored 160 points for first place ahead of runner-up Goodland with 131 points.

Team totals—1. Hoisington 160; 2. Goodland 131; 3. Salina Central 129; 4. Wichita Kapaun-Mt. Carmel 127; 5. Campus 114.
113—Bryce Younger (Ellis) pinned Tanner Cassity (Hoisington), 4:40; Bradan Slemp (Hugoton) pinned Tanner Cassity (Hoisington), 3:55.
120—Landon Harmon (Hoisington) won by tech fall over Rees Lehman (Oakley), 17-1; Braden O`Donnell (Kapaun) won by tech fall over Landon Harmon (Hoisington), 16-0; Landon Harmon (Hoisington) pinned Chance Sorell (Salina Central), 0:35; Aaron Avelar (Goodland) pinned Landon Harmon (Hoisington), 0:36; 5th Place—Landon Harmon (Hoisington) pinned Zak Anderson (Ulysses), 2:42.
126—Tony Metler (Kapaun) won by decision over Kody Lang (Hoisington), 8-6; Isaac Zimmerman (Hays) pinned Kody Lang (Hoisington), 1:00.
138—Brandon Ball (Hoisington) pinned Quentin Jiner (Weld Central), 1:27; Brandon Ball (Hoisington) won by major decision over Marco Perez (Ulysses), 11-0; Brandon Ball (Hoisington) won by major decision over Sean Taborsky (Haysville Campus), 11-0; 1st place—Brandon Ball (Hoisington) won by major decision over Dalton Hensley (Ellis), 13-0.
145—Jonathan Ball (Hoisington) pinned Hunter Folsom (Trego Community ), 1:18; Jonathan Ball (Hoisington) won by tech fall over Brad Smith (Spring Hill), 18-3; Jonathan Ball (Hoisington) pinned Wyatt Murphy (Oakley), 2:41; 1st place—Kevin Kissane (Maize South) won by decision over Jonathan Ball (Hoisington), 7-4
152—Christopher Ball (Hoisington) won by decision over Bryce Rodriguez (Ulysses), 7-4; Christopher Ball (Hoisington) 23-4 won by decision over Sam Kissane (Maize South), 6-4; Dayton Will (Salina Central) won by decision over Christopher Ball (Hoisington), 5-1.
160—Sean Urban (Hoisington) won by decision over Dakota Childress (Spring Hill), 7-5; Cole Brown (Buhler) pinned Sean Urban (Hoisington), 1:59); Luke Moore (Maize South) won by decision over Sean Urban (Hoisington), 3-2.
170—Anthony Gaona (St. Thomas Aquinas) won by decision over Hunter Hanzlick (Hoisington), 7-5; Hunter Hanzlick (Hoisington) won by forfeit over Allen Goff (Trego), forfeit; Hunter Hanzlick (Hoisington) won by decision over Grant Murphy (Russell), 5-2; Genesis Martinez (Hugoton) won by decision over Hunter Hanzlick (Hoisington), 8-2.
182—Austin McHenry (Hoisington) pinned Kaler Gilbert (Ulysses), 1:12; Kyle True (Salina Central) pinned Austin McHenry (Hoisington), 2:56; Austin McHenry (Hoisington) pinned Collin Sharpe (Oakley), 0:29; Austin McHenry (Hoisington) pinned Brandon Groff (Ellis), 1:28; Nick Nece (Kapaun) pinned Austin McHenry (Hoisington), 1:48; 5th place—Austin McHenry (Hoisington) pinned Kaleb Jost (McPherson), 0:36.
195—Chance Boor (Hoisington) pinned Jace Gordon (Phillipsburg), 1:38; Chance Boor (Hoisington) pinned Ross Regier (McPherson), 1:29; Chance Boor (Hoisington) won by major decision over Drew House (Goodland), 15-4; 1st place—Jack Helvey (Salina Central) pinned Chance Boor (Hoisington), 2:36.
220—KC Stephens (Hoisington) won by decision over Martin Duran (Haysville Campus), 7-1; Dylan Gassmann (Oakley) pinned KC Stephens (Hoisington), 5:48; KC Stephens (Hoisington) pinned Hagan Hoss (Goodland), 2:32); Braydon Delzeit (Hays) won by major decision over KC Stephens (Hoisington), 9-1.
285—Landen Urban (Hoisington) pinned Leo Jirak (Oakley), 3:39; Landen Urban (Hoisington) pinned Bennett Powers (Kapaun), 1:30); 1st place—Tyler Bastian (Haysville Campus) pinned Landen Urban (Hoisington), 5:54.