By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
St. John, Larned face postseason challenges
SJ boys


No. 1 ranked St. John, last year’s 1A boys state runner-up, and 3A boys state qualifier Larned face challenges to qualify for the state tournament in postseason sites announced by the Kansas State High School Activities Association. 

St. John will be the site of a 1A regional with Chase, Cunningham, Fairfield, Macksville, Pretty Prairie and Stafford. Once the Tigers reach the 1A substate, they could face No. 4 South Central, No. 5 Meade or No. 7 South Gray at Dodge City or Pratt.

The No. 4 ranked Larned boys will have to beat No. 2 ranked Hesston on its homecourt in March along with Council Grove, SE Saline, Halstead, Haven, Smoky Valley and Lyons.

Six-time defending girls state champion and No. 1 ranked Central Plains has No. 9 ranked Otis-Bison at the Claflin regional along with La Crosse, Natoma, Otis-Bison, Sylvan-Lucas, Victoria and Wilson. The Oilers could face No. 6 ranked Thunder Ridge at the substate at Russell or WaKeeney.

Class 3A Hoisington travels to Beloit aloing with Beloit, Concordia, Hays Thomas More Prep, Hoisington, Minneapolis, Norton, Phillipsburg, Russell 

Class 5A Great Bend will be paired among 18 teams in four western substates. The top four teams earn home substates.


ASHLAND—Ashland, Attica, Bucklin, South Central, Kiowa County, South Barber, Minneola 

KINSLEY—Deerfield, Dighton, Ingalls, Hodgeman County, Kinsley, Ness City, Pawnee Heights 

ROLLA—Fowler, Meade, South Gray, Moscow, Rolla, Satanta 

ST. JOHN—Chase, Cunningham, Fairfield, Macksville, Pretty Prairie, St. John, Stafford 



CLAFLIN—Central Plains,  La Crosse, Natoma, Otis-Bison, Sylvan-Lucas, Victoria, Wilson 

MANKATO—Northern Valley, Lakeside, Thunder Ridge, Logan, Rock Hills, Osborne, Stockton 

QUINTER—Rawlins County, Wheatland/Grinnell, Decatur, Palco, Quinter, Golden Plains, Western Plains

TRIBUNE—Cheylin, Brewster-Triplains, Wallace County, St. Francis, Greeley County, Weskan 



BURDEN—Argonia, Burden Central, Caldwell, Norwich, Oxford, South Haven, Udall 

ELBING—Burrton, Berean Academy, Hutchinson Central Christian, Peabody, Flinthills, Wichita Central Christian, Wichita Classical

MORAN—Altoona Midway, Chetopa, Crest, Southern Coffey, Marmaton Valley, Oswego, St. Paul 

WAVERLY—Hartford, Lebo, Madison/Hamilton, Marais Des Cygnes Valley, Olpe, Waverly 



FRANKFORT—Axtell, Frankfort, Hanover, JC St. Xavier, Blue Valley, Wakefield, Washington County 

GOESSEL—Goessel, Little River, Centre, McPherson Elyria, Rural Vista, Solomon 

LINCOLN—Beloit-St. John’s, Clifton Clyde, Lincoln, Linn, Pike Valley, Southern Cloud, Tescott 

VALLEY FALLS—Burlingame, Centralia, Doniphan West, Onaga, Troy, Valley Falls, Wetmore 


2A SUBSTAES (March 2-7)

ELKHART—Elkhart, Stanton County, Wichita County, Medicine Lodge, Skyline, Spearville, Sublette, Syracuse 

ELLIS—Belleville, Ellis, Hill City, Hoxie, Oakley, Plainville, Smith Center, WaKeeney Trego

HERINGTON—Bennington, Ell-Saline, Canton-Galva, Chase County, Herington, Hillsboro, Marion, Salina Sacred Heart 

HORTON—Valley Heights, Horton, Jackson Heights,  McLouth, Oskaloosa, Rossville, Wathena-Riverside, Jefferson North 

INMAN—Ellinwood, Ellsworth, Hutchinson Trinity, Inman, Moundridge, Sedgwick, Sterling, Remington 

LYNDON—Northern Heights, Mission Valley, Lawrence Seabury, Lyndon, Olathe Heritage, KC Christian, Central Heights, Shawnee Maranatha, Wabaunsee

SEDAN—Belle Plaine, Cedar Vale \Dexter, Conway Springs, Garden Plain, West Elk, Bluestem, Sedan, Wichita Independent 

YATES CENTER—Arma Northeast, Cherokee SE, Erie, Jayhawk Linn, Pittsburg Colgan, Pleasanton, Uniontown, Yates Center 

3A SUBSTATES (March 2-7)

BELOIT—Beloit, Concordia, Hays Thomas More Prep, Hoisington, Minneapolis, Norton, Phillipsburg, Russell 

BURLINGTON—Burlington, Anderson County, Humboldt, Prairie View, Osage City, Osawatomie, West Franklin, Wellsville 

CHENEY—Chaparral, Caney Valley, Cheney, Douglass, Eureka, Kingman, Wichita Collegiate, Wichita Trinity

CIMARRON—Cimarron, Colby, Goodland, Holcomb, Hugoton, SW Heights, Lakin, Scott City

GALENA—Baxter Springs, Cherryvale, Columbus, Fredonia, Elk Valley, Frontenac, Galena, Neodesha, Riverton 

HESSTON—Council Grove, SE Saline, Halstead, Haven, Hesston, Larned, Smoky Valley, Lyons 

HIAWATHA—Atchison Maur Hill, Pleasant Ridge, Atchison County Hiawatha, KC Ward, Marysville, Sabetha, Nemaha Central 

ROYAL VALLEY—Royal Valley, Jefferson West, Perry-Lecompton, Riley County, Santa Fe Trail,  Silver Lake, Rock Creek, St. Marys 


4A SUBSTATES (March 3-7)

EAST—Labette County, Atchison, Baldwin, Chanute, Coffeyville, Eudora, Fort Scott, Girard, Independence, Iola, KC Piper, Louisburg, Ottawa, Paola, Parsons, SM Miege, Tonganoxie, Topeka Hayden 

WEST—Abilene, Andale, Augusta, Buhler, Chapman, Clay Center, Clearwater, El Dorado, Holton, Mulvane, Nickerson, Pratt, Rose Hill, Towanda-Circle, Ulysses, Wamego, Wellington, Winfield 

5A SUBSATES (March 3-7)

EAST—Basehor-Linwood, Bonner Springs, De Soto, KC Schlagle, KC Sumner,  KC Turner, KC Washington, Lansing, Leavenworth, Lenexa St. James, BV Southwest, St. Thomas Aquinas, Pittsburg, Spring Hill, Shawnee Heights, Topeka West, Highland Park, Topeka Seaman 

WEST—Andover Central, Andover, Arkansas City, Emporia, Goddard, Goddard Eisenhower, Great Bend, Hays, Maize, Maize South, McPherson, Newton, Salina Central, Salina South, Valley Center, Wichita Carroll, Wichita Kapaun Mt. Carmel, Wichita Northwest 

6A SUBSTATES (March 3-7)

EAST—Gardner-Edgerton, KC Harmon, KC Wyandotte, Olathe East, Olathe North, Olathe Northwest, Olathe South, Olathe West, Blue Valley, BV North, BV Northwest, Blue Valley West, SM East, SM North, SM Northwest, SM South, SM West, Mill Valley 

WEST—Derby, Dodge City, Garden City, Campus,  Hutchinson, Junction City, Lawrence, Lawrence Free State, Liberal, Manhattan, Topeka, Washburn Rural, Wichita-EAST, Wichita Heights, Wichita North, Wichita South, Wichita Southast, Wichita West 


CLASS 6A—Wichita State

CLASS 5A–Emporia

CLASS 4A–Salina

CLASS 3A–Hutchinson

CLASS 2A–Manhattan

CLASS 1A–Dodge City