By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Upcoming races
Placeholder Image

Site: Fort Worth, Texas.

Schedule: Thursday, practice (Speed, 4-6 p.m. cst.); Friday, practice, qualifying (Speed, 5:30-7 p.m.); Saturday, race, 6:30 p.m. (FOX, 7-11 p.m.).

Track: Texas Motor Speedway (oval, 1.5 miles).

Race distance: 501 miles, 334 laps.

Last year: Denny Hamlin won the rain-delayed race for his second victory of the year and first since surgery on his left knee. Hamlin, also the November winner at the track, led the final 12 laps after a nine-car wreck took out dominating Jeff Gordon and polesitter Tony Stewart. Jimmie Johnson finished second.

Last week: Kevin Harvick won at Martinsville, overcoming an ill-handling car to charge to the front and pass Dale Earnhardt Jr. for the lead. Harvick also won the previous week at Fontana.

Fast facts: Earnhardt is winless in 99 races and has one victory — on fuel mileage at Michigan in June 2008 — in 114 starts for Hendrick Motorsports. He had 17 victories in 291 starts in nine seasons for Dale Earnhardt Inc., winning six times in 2004. ... Carl Edwards has a series-high three victories at the track.

Next race: Aaron's 499, April 17, Talladega Superspeedway, Talladega, Ala.



NATIONWIDEO'Reilly Auto Parts 300

Site: Fort Worth, Texas.

Schedule: Thursday, practice; Friday, practice, qualifying (ESPN2, 4-5 p.m.), race, 7:30 p.m. (ESPN2, 7-10 p.m.).

Track: Texas Motor Speedway (oval, 1.5 miles).

Race distance: 300 miles, 200 laps.

Last year: Kyle Busch ran his Texas Motor Speedway series winning streak to five, joining Jack Ingram and Dale Earnhardt as the only drivers to win five straight Nationwide series races at a track. Busch led 153 of 200 laps in the rain-delayed race.

Last race: Busch won at Fontana on March 26, his third straight victory at the track and fifth in the last six California races. He has three victories this year to push his Nationwide total to 46, three behind Mark Martin for the series record.

Fast facts: Carl Edwards won the November race to end Busch's Texas winning streak. Busch was second. ... Busch has led 587 of 900 laps this season. ... Kenny Wallace is making his 494th series start. Jason Keller is the career leader with 519.

Next race: Aaron's 312, April 16, Talladega Superspeedway, Talladega, Ala.




Next race: Bully Hill Vineyards 200, April 22, Nashville Superspeedway, Gladeville, Tenn.

Last week: Johnny Sauter won at Martinsville, passing Kyle Busch a lap before the finish.



INDYCARGrand Prix of Alabama

Site: Birmingham, Ala.

Schedule: Friday, practice; Saturday, practice, qualifying (Versus, 5-6 p.m.); Sunday, race, 3 p.m. (Versus, 2-5 p.m.).

Track: Barber Motorsports Park (road course, 2.38 miles).

Race distance: 178.5 miles, 75 laps.

Last year: Helio Castroneves won the inaugural race for Team Penske. Scott Dixon was second.

Last race: Two-time defending series champion Dario Franchitti won the season-opening Grand Prix of St. Petersburg on March 27 for Target Chip Ganassi Racing. Will Power was second for Penske.

Fast facts: Castroneves topped the speed chart last month in a two-day open test at the track. ... Danica Patrick is coming off a 12th-place finish at St. Petersburg. ... The 17-turn course features 80 feet of elevation change.

Next race: Grand Prix of Long Beach, April 17, Streets of Long Beach, Long Beach, Calif.



FORMULA ONEMalaysian Grand Prix

Site: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Speed, 1-2:30 a.m.), Saturday, practice, qualifying (Speed, 3-4:30 a.m.); Sunday, race, 3 a.m. (Speed, 2:30-5 a.m., 1:30-4 p.m.).

Track: Sepang International Circuit (road course, 3.44 miles).

Race distance: 192.88 miles, 56 laps.

Last year: Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel led from start to finish. Teammate Mark Webber was second.

Last race: Vettel opened his season title defense March 27 with a victory in the Australian Grand Prix. McLaren's Lewis Hamilton was second.

Fast facts: Lotus, backed by the Malaysian government and a consortium of businessmen, returned to F1 last season after a 16-year absence. It won 79 races and seven constructors' titles between 1958 and 1994. ... Seven-time world champion Michael Schumacher has a record 91 victories, three at Sepang.

Next race: Chinese Grand Prix, April 17, Shanghai International Circuit, Shanghai.




Next event: NHRA 4-Wide Nationals, April 14-17, zMAX Dragway, Concord, N.C.

Last week: Robert Hight raced to his second Funny Car victory of the season, winning at Las Vegas to give John Force Racing its fifth consecutive victory dating to last season. Hight beat Johnny Gray in the final. Antron Brown (Top Fuel) and Mike Edwards (Pro Stock) also won.




GRAND-AM ROLEX SPORTS CAR SERIES: Porsche 250, Saturday (Speed, Sunday, 11 a.m.-1:30 p.m.), Barber Motorsports Park, Birmingham, Ala. Online:

U.S. AUTO RACING CLUB: Sprint Car, Friday-Saturday, Eldora Speedway, Rossburg, Ohio. Online: