By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Area champs named at 89th KJLS
kjls logo

HUTCHINSON – Winning exhibitors at the 89th Kansas Junior Livestock Show (KJLS) earned premiums, while others were presented scholarships for excelling academically, in community service and in 4-H/FFA. The largest youth livestock show in Kansas showcased 1,648 head of livestock, including 158 market steers, 280 breeding heifers, 217 market hogs, 221 breeding gilts, 285 market lambs, 214 breeding ewes, 150 market goats and 123 commercial doe kids. The statewide event was held Oct. 1-3 at the Kansas State Fairgrounds in Hutchinson.

Pre-determined cash premiums were awarded to the top five animals in both the market and breeding shows for all four species. 

Third overall, worth $1,000, went to the reserve crossbred steer, owned by Dax Seibert of Pawnee County. Placing fourth overall and earning a $750 premium was the champion Maine-Anjou, exhibited by Gracie Karst from Russell County. 

The reserve Charolais was shown by Gracie Karst from Russell County.

In the Shorthorn Plus division, Dax Seibert of Pawnee County exhibited the champion. 

The reserve commercial heifer was owned by Gracie Karst of Russell County. 

The champion Limousin heifer was led by Tyra Meyer of Lincoln County. 

Emma Karst of Russell County exhibited the champion AOB heifer.

Kelltyn Grasser of Rice County exhibited the fifth overall gilt, which was the champion dark AOB. The gilt earned a $250 premium. 

Third overall, worth $200, was the champion Dorset ewe, owned by Rachel Sebesta of Ellsworth County. 

The LEAD Challenge allowed exhibitors to learn about current industry issues and apply that information in a competitive environment. All those entered in the challenge participated in the LEAD Listen & Learn, showmanship, skills stations and interviews. First through fifth in the intermediate division were, in order of finish, Calla Higbie, Franklin County; Anah Higbie, Franklin County; Tucker Goss, Ellsworth County; Grayson Maxwell, Pawnee County; and Kate Bormann, Riley County. In the junior division, first through fifth, in order of finish, were Aubree McCurry, Reno County; Elim Higbie, Franklin County; Kealie Bryant, Finney County; Britta Goss, Ellsworth County; and Quinn Breiner, Pratt County. 

A team from Kansas State University won first place in the senior college competition at the Mid-America Classic Judging Contest, held in conjunction with KJLS. 

KLA and Kansas State University are major sponsors of the show, along with Cargill, Merck Animal Health, Seaboard Foods, American AgCredit, Kansas Farm Bureau, Evergy, the Kansas Department of Agriculture and Friends of KJLS.