By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
‘Driving Energy for Life’ is Wheatland annual meeting theme
NEW Wheatland color with tag-FINAL

SCOTT CITY – The 74th Annual Meeting of the members of Wheatland Electric Cooperative Inc. will be held April 27 at the Scott Community Building at 600 Fairground Rd., in Scott City and in seven other remote viewing locations across their service territory: Leoti, Tribune, Syracuse, Garden City, Great Bend, Harper, and Caldwell. 

This year’s theme, “Driving Energy for Life,” reflects the company’s commitment to be future-focused. In addition to unveiling new services like their electric vehicle and generator programs and laying the roadmap for what is ahead, important news and information from this past year will be shared, putting 2021 in the rearview. 

All Wheatland Electric members are invited and encouraged to attend, nominate, vote for their trustees, and enter to win one of many door prizes, all of which can be done from any of the eight meeting locations. Each member household at every meeting location will also receive a special annual meeting gift as our thank you for attending. 

Registration opens at 11 a.m. and lunch will be served at 11:30 a.m. at all eight meeting locations. The business meeting will convene at noon. The following matters will be addressed: reports of officers, trustees, committees, and employees; election of trustees of the cooperative; and any other business which may come before the meeting. 

The seven other locations, include the following: 

• District 2, Wheatland Electric Warehouse, 103 West F, Leoti 

• District 3, Wheatland Electric Warehouse, 310 Broadway Ave., Tribune

• District 4, VFW Building, 609 N. Main Street, Syracuse 

• District 5, Wheatland Electric Office, 2005 W. Fulton, Garden City

• District 6, Wheatland Electric Office, 200 10th St., Great Bend

• District 7, Wheatland Electric Warehouse, 302 W. 6th St., Harper 

• District 7, Caldwell Community Building, 119 E. First St., Caldwell

The following candidates have been nominated by the nominating committee for the position of trustee: District 5, Wes Campbell; District 6, Bob Hiss; and District 7, William Barnes, Caldwell. 

The 2022 nominating committee consisted of the following members: District 1, Ed Cupp; District 2, Milan D. Reimer; District 3, Dale Wetzel; District 4, Pat Riley; District 5, Jason Dougherty; District 6, Matt Hoisington; and District 7, Troy Dierking. 

Additional nominations may be made from the floor during the April 27 meeting. Members with questions can contact their local Wheatland Electric office or send a message to