By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
GB Tribune staffers earn Awards of Excellence
Placeholder Image

The Great Bend Tribune staff earned a number of awards from the Kansas Press Association for work done in 2010.

"I’m really proud of our staff," said Mary Hoisington, publisher of the Tribune. "We are consistently winning awards year-after-year which shows our dedication to putting out news the community should be proud of.

"We appreciate the support of our advertisers and subscribers and will continue to strive to meet their information and marketing needs in the future," she said.

"Our reporters, year-in and year-out, do well in this contest, not only in individual categories, but in categories such as overall news excellence which only shows we have an excellent team that continues to produce a quality newspaper," said Dale Hogg, managing editor.

The awards in Daily Division II were:


Best Front Page, staff, third; Feature Package, Karen La Pierre, third; Photo Package, Dan Witt, second; Agricultural Story, La Pierre, first; Best Use of Photos, staff, third; News and Writing, staff, third.


Healthcare Ad, Karma Byers and Wendy Beck, third; Specialty Ad, Nick Grubbe and Mary Hoisington, first; Specialty Ad, Byers and Beck, second; Political Ad, Byers and Tammy Mason, second; Furniture Ad, Byers and McGilber, second; Adaptable Promotion, staff, third; Agricultural Ad, Grubbe and Mason, first; Agricultural Ad, Grubbe and Mason, second; Classified Display Ad, Grubbe and Mason, first; Automotive Ad, Grubbe and McGilber, first.

Also, Automotive Ad, Byers and Mason, third; Professional Service Ad, Byers and McGilber, first; Hardware Ad, Byers and Mason, second; Hardware Ad, Byers and McGilber, third; Community Event, Grubbe and Mason, first; Community Event, Byers and Mason, third; House Ad, Byers, third; Online Promotion, Anthony Smith and Mason, first; Online Ad, static, Joe Barron and Rosey Randolph, third; Online Ad, motion, Joe Barron and Raechel Manley, first; Online Ad, motion, Joe Barron and Hoisington, second place; Online Ad, motion, Joe Barron and Mason, third.